Galette

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA Hello, and warm welcome.  Actually this was supposed to be my second post but I posted this first.  I am very excited as well as happy to share my love with you all.  Hope you will enjoy with me. I have made several cakes before but this was my first attempt of trying something other than cakes and cookies.  I have seen this beautiful dessert in a book, which I recently bought online.

When I googled the net I found that Galette is a term used in French cuisine for various types of round, flat crusty cakes made without the tin. They can be made savory or sweet.

apple

I choose sweet because with lots of strawberry punnets in hand. It was loved by everyone, but my husband suggested savory version would be good too, so i tried that also with yellow and red bell peppers. Virat, my son who is not a great fan of cakes loved the savory version. After half an hour of baking i covered it with a aluminum foil to prevent the strawberry from burning.

strawberry

For all the strawberry lovers, it is a must try.
Recipe adapted from Baking with Julia, two galettes can be made out of this proportion.

Ingredients:
Pastry:
3 tbsp Hung curd
1 cup all purpose flour
1/3 cup Ice water
1/4 cup cornmeal
1 tsp – sugar
110 gm – Chilled butter
filling:
1 cup – strawberry, chopped
1 cup – apple, chopped
2 tbsp- sugar + 2 tsp Sugar for sprinkling
2 tbsp honey
2 tbsp – cornflour
2 tbsp – jam
milk for brushing the pastry

Method:
mix all the dry ingredients, add chilled butter and cold water add more maida if it is sticky to your hand. In a cling film wrap the dough divided into two discs and refrigerate it for 2 – 3 hours.

Mix all the filling ingredients except jam only when the dough is cooled down in freeze. Dust the surface with flour to roll the pastry about 1/8 inch thick. Spread 1 tbsp of jam over the rolled pastry leaving a 2 inch border. Spread half of the filling over the jam. Fold the border.  Brush the border with milk and sprinkle the sugar on the border. Place the galette on a baking tray and put it in a preheated oven for about 35 – 40 minutes until golden brown.

 

2 thoughts on “Galette

  1. Thanks for sharing this Cheenu, Just love this attitude of yours. Don’t let it go.. It will take you a long way ahead. God Bless

Leave a Reply

