Dessicated Coconut Macaron – Nut free…. my first hand experience

Dessicated Macaron..nut free I have been baking since the last one year.  Initially baking only was enough to keep me happy and satisfied but later,  when I learnt about blogging I decided to give it a try. strawberry It took me 5 months to post my first post; actually I was not confident how people would react to it.  But, when yesterday I tried macaron for the first time and  they came out  well too, for an untrained baker it was a positive sign  and this raised my confidence to share my desserts with you.

These are photographs of some of my old work. fruit cake Vanilla cake Macaron is a meringue based confectionery made with the use of egg whites, powdered sugar and most importantly almond meal. Almond meal is not easily available here, so I made the almond meal myself by grinding blanched almonds and sugar, but the result was not effective in macaron. I found a site called foodwanderings who is launching nut free macaron series and when I searched from her series, I found this recipe of macaron  with dessicated coconut, which doesn’t require anything  something which  is not there in our day to day kitchen. I  quickly whip up the things and finally  found a recipe, which was loved by everyone. Recipe adapted from Food Wandering makes about 20 macaron sandwiches.

Ingredients:

for the shells:

  • 110 gm icing sugar
  • 60gm dessicated coconut
  • 60gm aged egg whites (2 eggs white in the fridge for two days covered with plastic)
  • 40 gm castor sugar

for the filling:

  • 1 cup of amul cream
  • 2 cups of white choclate
  • 5 strawberries blended

Method

Preheat oven to 130 degree. Line 2 baking trays with parchment paper.Toast the dessicated coconut on slow flame slightly just to remove the moisture. Transfer it into a plate and let it cool down. Grind coconut with icing sugar. In a mixing bowl whisk the egg whites until bubbles formed add spoonful by spoonful castor sugar in it and continue whisking until stiff peaks formed. Now fold this meringue(egg white and sugar combination) spoonful by spoonful into dry ingredients. Fill this mixture into a piping bag with 1/2″ circular tip. Pipe mixture into 1 1/2″ diameter discs about an inch apart onto the parchment paper. Let it sit for 15 minutes to let the skin form, very very important step to get the feet on macaron. So ready to bake for 15 minutes. For filling in a pan on a slow flame warm the cream add strawberry puree and add chocolate into it and warm it for further 2 minutes more until all the choclate dissolves. Let it cool. Pipe it onto the cooled shell and sandwiched it with another shell.

One thought on “Dessicated Coconut Macaron – Nut free…. my first hand experience

  1. Pingback: Eton mess….failed macaron | Bakingflavours

Leave a Reply

