Dinner Rolls

Whenever you bake bread the sweet aroma will delight and amaze you.  My sweet little dinner rolls were so adorable. Nothing can match it , bake it to believe it.   Baking bread is always the most pleasurable moment for me and if the rise is perfect I can’t ask for more.  Taste of fresh bread, be it simple white bread is just amazing. There’s nothing difficult about baking bread

But I think several steps like kneading, rising,  proving and knocking   and constant watch   are the things that keep  us away from baking such goodies.  But over the experience it becomes so easy.  The ingredients are so easy to get except yeast everything is there at home in every kitchen and now getting yeast is so easy nowadays.  Don’t hesitate go for the experience.

My son was not at home so it becomes easy for me to keep the constant watch on the process. I am dying to try so – so many different types of bread I have never heard of and think of.  I adapted the recipe from the site Myjhola.  She has made so many wonderful breads in her blog. I envy of her.   I thing it is an addiction.

When it was ready everybody gathered around me to taste it but we all settled for two as I had made only half of the recipe and I have to wait till morning to click photos because the result my camera gives were not good at night.  They were so tasty and everybody wants more but later they  all patiently obliged.

This beautiful basket was presented to me by my sister she always pamper me with so many great gifts and you know I shamelessly asked her for things which I want.

Dinner rolls, smaller rolls, usually round loaf of bread for one person.  Bread rolls  are commonly served as meal accompaniment (eaten plain or with bread), or else –  cut transversely   and with a filling  placed between the two halves – used to make sandwiches similar to those produced using slices of bread.

Dinner Rolls

Ingredients

  • Active Dry yeast – 2tsp
  • Sugar – 2tsp
  • Lukewarm milk – 200ml + extra
  • All purpose flour – 450 g
  • Butter- 1 tbsp + extra for greasing and brushing
  • Salt – 2 tsp
  • Poppy seeds or sesame seeds-    1 tbsp for sprinkling

Method

  • Mix the yeast and sugar in a mixing bowl.  Pour half the lukewarm milk over the yeast and allow it to stand for about 10 minutes until frothy.
  • Place the flour in a large mixing bowl and add the frothed yeast to it.  Add the reserved milk and knead to soft dough.  Sprinkle more milk, if required.
  • Tip the dough onto a lightly floured surface and knead in stretching motions for 5 – 10 minutes.  Rub the butter and salt together until pale and creamy.  Incorporate the butter into the dough and knead until smooth and elastic.  Cover and allow it to rise until double in size; about 40 minutes.
  • Knock back the dough and knead again, briefly.  Divide into sixteen portions and shape as desired- knots, simple round buns, plaits etc. Place well apart on a greased baking tray.  Leave in a warm spot until double in size, again, about 20 to 40 minutes.
  • Brush lightly with milk if using seeds ,  sprinkle them over.
  • Bake in a pre heated oven at 230 degree Celsius for 12 – 15 minutes until pale golden.  Remove from the oven and brush immediately with butter allows at least one hour cooling before serving.

Leave a Reply

