Almond Biscotti,an experience

Almond Biscotti

These biscotties are delicious. These are popular among English people. You can compare them with biscuits.

I have tried it lots of times before, but every time they fails.  The biscotti didn’t seen to getting to the final stage.  Then I struggle myself to try them again after my repetitive failures, I finally got a nice biscotti in hand. I must admit that this low fat biscotti are so addictive, I am definitely try to  more with different flavors.

I had a very bad habit of not reading properly,  I used to  just quickly go through the main words and reached the result , sometimes this works and sometimes  it takes triple of your effort  and  that’s what happened to me while making biscotti.

Almond Biscotti

I always followed the best bloggers recipe  everything went smoothly till the last step but when I reached the final stage  all suddenly went wrong  and it turned out into a crumble when I sliced them, but this time I read the recipe word by word and I recognized where I am lacking.  I read the recipe again checking what went wrong and I realized cutting it diagonally was an important step. You won’t believe trying a recipe again and again and again trying  when you still don’t know what would be the result, really took lots of courage.  But looking at the English proverb “All’s well that ends well”.

Biscotti  more correctly known as biscotti di Prato and also known as cantuccini (English: coffee bread), are twice baked biscuits originating in the Italian city of Prato.  The biscuits are oblong shaped biscuits, made dry and crunchy through cutting the loaf of dough while still hot and fresh from baking in the oven.

I followed the recipe Martha Stewart

  • prep 20 mins
  • total time 1 hour
  • yield Makes about 40

Ingredients

  • 2 1/2 cups all-purpose flour (spooned and leveled)
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon fine salt
  • 3 large eggs, lightly beaten
  • 1 tablespoon pure vanilla extract
  • 1 cup slivered almonds, toasted

Store biscotti in an airtight container, up to 2 days, or freeze, up to 3 months.

Method

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. In a large bowl, whisk together flour, sugar, baking powder, and salt. Using an electric mixer, beat in eggs and vanilla until combined. Add almonds and beat until combined.

Divide dough in half and transfer to a parchment-lined rimmed baking sheet. Form each half into a 2 1/2-inch-wide, 3/4-inch-tall log. Bake until dough is firm but gives slightly when pressed, 20 to 25 minutes, rotating sheet halfway through. Let cool on sheet on a wire rack, 20 minutes.

With a serrated knife, cut logs into 1/4-inch slices on the diagonal and arrange, cut side down, on two parchment-lined rimmed baking sheets. Bake until biscotti are crisp and golden, about 15 minutes, rotating sheets and flipping biscotti halfway through. Let cool on sheets on wire racks

Almond Biscotti

2 thoughts on “Almond Biscotti,an experience

  1. V good vibha keep it up..nice delicious cookies….innovate more delicacies… On Aug 10, 2013 8:45 AM, “Bakingflavours” wrote: > > vibhagupta posted: ” These biscotties are delicious. These are popular among English people. You can compare them with biscuits. I have tried it lots of times before, but every time they fails. The biscotti didn’t seen to getting to the final stage. Then I struggle m” >

Leave a Reply

