Yeast doughnut or donut-will win you

Doughnut

Doughnuts are my son’s favorite and mine too.  We both can have two at a time whenever  and wherever we get them without bothering about my growing size and when I am talking about two, I am not talking about  small which I used to make at home I am talking about JUMBO doughnut available in the market. My son always said to me my donuts are much better than the  store bought.  I have made these many time especially on the demand of my son’s friends  or whenever he went to picnic with his friend .  He felt so proud when his friend’s mother came to me asking for the recipe

Doughnut

I  first made these long time ago and as usual first time they did not come out well but after that they were getting better and better.  Yeast never fails to do the magic,  baking with yeast is so  special and after it has risen  you know beforehand how they were going to be after completion.   I wanted to try the eggless version  and baked version too and different decoration that we usually saw in the store bought.Doughnut

I made this on my son’s birthday party.  I adapted the recipe of  Neeta Mehta.  When I started baking I used to buy these little books for reference. I  made 50 donuts and I secretly save the 4 pieces  for taking photograph tomorrow.

Ingredients (yield – 10 medium sized donut)

  • Maida – 1 ½ cup
  • Dry active yeast – 2 tsp
  • Castor sugar – ¼ cup
  • Warm water – ¼ cup + Sugar – ½ tsp
  • Egg – 1
  • Milk – for kneading
  • Soft butter – 1 tbsp

Chocolate glaze

  • Icing Sugar – 200 gms
  • Boiling  water – 4 tbsp
  • Cocoa Powder – 7 tbsp
  • Soft butter –   1 tbsp

For chocolate glaze

Sieve icing sugar.  Mix boiling water with cocoa powder  properly.  Add sugar and butter. Now on low heat put the above mixture ,  stir continuously  till sugar dissolves completely.

For donuts
In a small bowl, pour  ¼ cup warm water over ½ tsp sugar and  the yeast  and leave it covered  in a warm place for 15 minutes or until froth came over it.  Add the egg, sugar and the  flour.  Knead  until flour is incorporated and get a soft dough add more milk if required.
Add soft butter to the dough and again knead for 4 minutes.

Transfer to a well-oiled bowl, cover, and let rise for 1 hour or until doubled in size. Again knead the dough for 10 minutes  till it  becomes smooth On a well-floured surface, roll out dough to 3/8-inch thick. {Make sure the surface really is well-floured otherwise your doughnuts will stick to the counter}.
Cut out dough using a 2 1/2-inch doughnut cutter or pastry ring or drinking glass and using a 7/8-inch ring for the center whole. Set on floured baking sheet, cover lightly with a tea towel, and let rise for 30 minutes.
Preheat the oil in a heavy bottom wok to 185°C. {Test the oil to see if it’s ready with a doughnut hole. It should immediately bob to the top of the oil, and begin to brown. If it comes up slowly, the oil needs to get hotter. If it becomes dark brown immediately, the oil is too hot…beware!}
Gently place the doughnuts into the oil, 3 to 4 at a time. Cook for 1 minute per side or until golden brown.  Transfer to a cooling rack. Allow to cool for 15 to 20 minutes prior to glazing

.Doughnut

Leave a Reply

