Plum Buckle – Unbuckle your tastebuds

plum buckle  

Don’t you think blogging is a wonderful idea, in order to feed  your blog you came across many new words, many new dishes and lots about food culture.  Sharing the same information and the experience went into making the dessert is magical.  Here, you can  speak your heart out  on your favorite topic  which is baking of course,  and you can tell as much as you want.

Plums

And above all, I love the expression on the faces of my family members, friends and relatives, whenever  I tell them the name of the new dish served .  It is quite humorous.  In fact, I was like them four months back.  I know it is a long way to go.

I used plum in plenty this season in my baking and cooking it may be Plum jam, Peach, Cherry and plum Cobbler and in Peach, cherry and Plum Crisp.  When I was reading about the origins of these desserts I came to know about buckle also.  Just to go through the beautiful taste or may be better  I decided to make that.   To your surprise I still able to get plums from a nearby mall, which otherwise I think impossible to get from a local vendor.  So to carry on the goodness of this fruit which I mentioned in my earlier post.

Plum Buckle

Buckle is a dessert which combines fresh seasonal fruit, a rich cake batter, and a streusel topping. The result is a rich, dense cake with a moist crumb which is sometimes compared to coffee cake. It is an excellent summer dessert, and can be served hot or cold, plain or dressed with drizzles of sauce. Making buckle at home is relatively easy, and a great way to use fresh fruit.

The origins of buckle are a bit mysterious. The dish has been in the United States for centuries, suggesting that it may have been developed by colonists. Buckle is extremely popular in New England, where it is often made with blueberries.

I adapted the recipe of  Martha Stewart with little changes and I halved the recipe.

Ingredients.

  • 1/2 cup unsalted butter, softened
  • 3/4 cup plus 2 tablespoons sugar
  • 4  eggs (I used 4 instead of 3 large)
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1 1/4 cups all-purpose flour (spooned and leveled)
  • 1/4 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 4 cups plums, pitted, peeled, and cut into 1/2-inch pieces ( I used plums instead of peaches)
  • 1/2 teaspoon lemon zest (I used lemon zest instead of cinnamon powder)
  • 1/3 cup sliced almonds

Directions

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Butter a 7″ cake tin. In a large bowl, cream butter and 3/4 cup sugar with an electric mixer until fluffy. Add eggs, one at a time, and vanilla; beat to combine.

In a medium bowl, whisk together flour, baking powder, and salt. With mixer on low speed, gradually add flour mixture to butter mixture; beat until incorporated. Fold in plums.

Spread batter in prepared tin. In a small bowl, mix together remaining 2 tablespoons sugar, zest, and almonds. Sprinkle mixture over top; bake until a toothpick inserted in center comes out clean and topping is golden, 30 to 40 minutes. Let cool 20 minutes before serving.

Leave a Reply

