Apricot Jam-sparkling golden yellow on your plate

APRICOT JAM

It seems like this summer I am on a jam making spree after plum and jamun jam. What can I do I can’t resist myself from buying these beautiful golden yellow apricots?   Whenever I saw them in the market I buy them knowing they were lying in lot in my freeze.  But when I saw the growing pile of them I knew how to use them, a jam was waiting to happen.

apricot jam

After lot of searching I settled for this recipe.  I soaked the apricots in water and again realized that the sugar required in this jam is Jam Sugar.  Jam Sugar contains added pectin.  It is also called by the name of Gelling Sugar. As I told earlier in my jams recipes that pectin makes cooking process faster and it also stops crystallizing the sugar.  So if you are not using jam sugar or pectin in your jam be extra careful with the cooking process.  When it starts to thicken up and starts forming wrinkle on a cool plate test.  You should stop immediately and transfer the jam in another clean bowl to stop further cooking. Sugar mentioned in the recipe seemed too much to me so I halved the sugar, I took the courage and take the risk.  I made this jam two months back but I didn’t    post the recipe because I wanted to confirm the change I made.  Believe me after two months its tastes as good as it was on the first day or even better.

 Apricot Jam

One more thing It is truly the best jam ever tasted.  It is a must with my everyday meal.  I am looking forward to try other jams too.

Recipe adapted from BBC Goodfood

 Apricot Jam

Ingredients

  • 500g whole dried apricots, chopped
  • juice 3 large lemons
  • 1½ kg jam sugar (normal sugar 900 gms)

Method

  1. Put the apricots in a large pan, add 1.5 litres water,      cover and leave overnight to soak.
  2. Next day, place a small plate in the fridge to chill.      Put the apricots and water on the hob, then add the lemon juice and bring      to the boil. Reduce the heat, then simmer for 30 mins or until the      apricots are tender and starting to break up (I give them a quick blitz here as I forgot to chop the apricots after soaking).
  3. Remove from the heat and add the sugar, stirring until      it dissolves. Return to the heat and boil rapidly for 20 mins or until      setting point is reached. To check this, remove the plate from the fridge,      put a spoonful of jam onto the plate and pop it back in the fridge for a      few mins – the jam should wrinkle when you push it with your finger. A      sugar thermometer will also give you the setting point of jam, which is      105C.
  4. Carefully pour the cool jam into  sterilised jars. The jam will last for 6      months if kept in freeze. 

Apricot Jam

3 thoughts on “Apricot Jam-sparkling golden yellow on your plate

  1. Pingback: Chilly Jam … gifting ideas for Christmas (Jams)….#1 | Bakingflavours

  2. Pingback: Malta and Red Chilli Jam….using my precious gifts | Bakingflavours

  3. Pingback: Schichttorte/Baumkuchen/Tree Cake…another daring baker’s challenge | Bakingflavours

Leave a Reply

