Cranberry Jelly and Vanilla Panna Cotta – A stunner

cranberry jelly and vanilla panna cotta

It was a perfect “show off” dessert. I bookmarked this recipe long time back. It really won me over when I saw the pictures of them on a blog the white ramekin.I rushed to the market to buy cranberry juice but to my disappointment cranberry juice comes in 1 litre tetra pack and I generally don’t allow anyone to bring the tetra pack juices into my home because my son has very very sensitive throat and so no extra cranberry juice.

pomegranate

I need only 200ml for my recipe ( 1/3rd recipe) so I wait for any celebration to come and my son’s birthday was very near. I knew this has to be there in the menu.

cranberry jelly and vanilla panna cotta

I made this but not in individual glasses because of the limited space in freeze to set jelly and panna cotta. So I decided to make this in a big bowl . Strawberry is not in the season so I skip it. It takes double the time to set as mentioned in the recipe although I was scare whether it will set or not. But yes red pool of cranberry is set. The beautiful aroma it gave when I was boiling the juice was so inviting. I hurriedly make the vanilla panna cotta and pour over it with very shaking hand fearing it will sink in between but it didn’t.

.Cranberry jelly and vanilla panna cotta

It was a big big hit among the children. They told me they never had such type of dessert before and it tasted yum but they do complaint that the jelly is little over sweet. So I make it a note of it and when I got the chance to make it again I remembered to take care of their suggestion and this time too it wooed my guests. One more thing I will do next time is increasing the gelatin by one teaspoon to make a perfect jelly.

Recipe adapted from The White Ramekin

Ingredients

for Strawberry Jelly

  • 2½ teaspoons unflavored gelatin powder
  • 750 ml cranberry juice {I used Tropicana}
  • 110 gm sugar
  • 500 gm strawberries, halved (I didn’t have these so I omit these)

for vanilla Panna Cotta

  • 2 tbsp cold water
  • 2 tsp unflavored powdered gelatin
  • 1 cup low fat cream
  • 1/3 cup sugar
  • 1/2 tsp – vanilla essence
  • 2 cup plain whole milk hung yogurt

Pomegranate to decorate

Method

For the jelly

place 1/2 cup cranberry juice and the gelatin powder in a bowl and let stand for 5 minutes until gelatin gets dissolved. Meanwhile heat rest of the cranberry juice with sugar over medium heat until sugar is dissolved. Bring to a boil and cook for 1 minute. Take that off from heat and mix in the gelatin and set aside for 20 minutes to cool.Pour in the cranberry mix into the glasses leaving 3/4th of the space. Let stand them in the fridge to set for at least 3 hours.

For the Vanilla panna cotta

sprinkle the gelatin over water in a bowl and let stand for 5 minutes until gelatin is dissolved. Meanwhile, heat the cream with sugar and  vanilla essence in a saucepan over medium heat until the cream starts to boil. Remove from heat and whisk in the gelatin. Whisk in the yogurt and let it cool completely, taking care that it doesn’t start to set.

Assembling

Take out the jelly ramekins from the fridge and pour in the cooled cream over the jelly {cream should be completely cooled down and the jelly should be chilled, otherwise it may sink into the cranberry jelly}. Let them stand back into the fridge for another 2 hours.  Garnish with pomegranate pearls.

cranberry jelly and vanilla panna cotta

One thought on “Cranberry Jelly and Vanilla Panna Cotta – A stunner

  1. Pingback: Mango Panna Cotta..on World Environment Day…a plea | Bakingflavours

Leave a Reply

