Chocolate Cake – to all the teachers

chocolate Layer Caker1

It is the supreme art of the teacher to awaken joy in creative expression and knowledge.

Albert Einstein

I remembered when we were kids,  we too have to gift a flower or a card to our teacher and while making the card I always filled with so many emotions. I always expressed my sincere thanks to  them for whatever they have done and are doing to make us better.  It is good to see that in spite of  so much changes,  this scenario hasn’t changed at all.  I think this is  the best medium through which we express our feelings.

chocolate cake

I believe a teacher is not restricted to school or colleges. He or she could be anyone like who intentionally or intentionally teach you something.  Like currently my teacher is my son, who has a task assigned to him,  to teach new words to me which he is learning. It is amazing to learn from him and fun too.

Chocolate Cake

This cake I want to dedicate to all the teachers specially  two favorite teachers of my son, even I find them most dedicated and sincere towards all  the children.  My son who is very shy in expressing his feelings asked me to make a cake for them I was surprised and feel  privileged to do the honor.

We celebrate this day for the most influential scholar and our second President of India Dr. Sarvapalli Radhakrishnan.  After he became the President of India and  some student wanted to celebrate his birthday.  To which he remarked “Instead of celebrating my birthday it would be my proud privilege if September 5 be observed as “Teacher’s Day”.

Chocolate Cake

Recipe adapted from Smitten Kitchen.

1/2 cup (1 stick or 4 ounces) unsalted butter, softened
1 cup (6 7/8 ounces) firmly packed light brown sugar
1/2 cup (4 ounces) granulated sugar
2 eggs, at room temperature
1 cup buttermilk
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
1 1/2 cups (6 3/4 ounces) all-purpose flour
3/4 cup (2 5/8 ounces) Dutch cocoa powder
1/4 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon baking powder
1/4 teaspoon salt

Preheat the oven to 325°F. Butter and lightly flour tins, or spray it with a butter-flour spray. In a large bowl, on the medium speed of an electric mixer, cream the butter until smooth. Add the sugars and beat until fluffy, about 3 minutes. Add the egg and beat well, then the buttermilk and vanilla. Don’t worry if the batter looks a little uneven. Sift the flour, cocoa, baking soda, baking powder and salt together right into your wet ingredients. Stir together with a spoon until well-blended but do not overmix. Scrape down the batter in the bowl, making sure the ingredients are well blended.

Pour the batter into the tins. Bake for 40 minutes, or until a cake tester inserted into the center of the tins comes out clean. Cool in pan on a rack for about 10 to 15 minutes, at which point you can cool it the rest of the way out of the pan.  Decorate it as desired.

Chocolate Cake

This was my very  small way to express my deepest thanks to  all the teachers in the world.

One thought on “Chocolate Cake – to all the teachers

  1. A heartfelt thanks to you and your brilliant son Virat. We were touched by your gesture. Thank you also for the special eggless oatmeal cookies. They are the best homemade cookies I have ever tasted – baked to perfection! You ought to go commercial!

Leave a Reply

