Apple Verrine and Rum Truffle Balls….Best out of leftover

LEFTOVER

“Good cooks waste nothing.”

Gordan Ramsay

Rum Truffle

In order to become one I followed his advice and try to waste nothing. Leftover is something which used to occupied lots of space in everybody’s freeze and I believe like in ours house  nobody wants to have them again (most of the food items) they prefer freshly made.  But sometimes when I am in mood I take my magic wand and convert them into a masterpiece.  Likewise rice is something I love to have regularly and somehow my proportion of making it always go wrong and next day when everybody rejects having them. I cut whatever like cucumber, carrot, nutrella or whatever and when I bring my bowl of that same rice with a makeover they all start drooling and asking me to give them some.

Apple Verrine

Similarly recently I saw a show on foodfood channel and I was really amazed how she makes beautiful chapatti noodles with leftover chapatti by cutting it into thin slices. Likewise there is always rusk crumbs left in the packet I use them to decorate my cake or use them in making cheesecake.   Leftover is something we can’t avoid but using them is an art. I believe variations are endless.

Rum Truffle

Apple Verrine

Ingredients

  • Sponge(leftover)
  • Sugar syrup made by boiling ¼ cup of water with ½ tsp sugar
  • Whipped cream
  • Roasted nuts (optional)

Apple compote

  • 2 – Apple
  • 2 tsp – Brown Sugar
  • 1 – small lemon Juice
  • Zest of 1 lemon or ½ orange
  • 1/8 cup of water

Method of Apple Compote

Place all the ingredients in a heavy bottom pan, covered till apples are soft and liquid almost evaporated.  Stir from time to time.

Method of assembling

Give a quick blitz to sponge  in the mixer to make crumbs.

Make a layer of crumbs at the bottom of a serving glass.

Some whipped cream on the crumb top.

Spoon some apple compote

Continue this layering until the glass filled.

Rum Truffle 

Ingredients

Chocolate Sponge – 2 cup

  • Chocolate truffle – 2 tbsp (make this by adding 2 proportion of chocolate and 1 proportion of fresh cream) you can add more if your sponge is not coming together.
  • Rum – 1 tbsp
  • Nuts – cut into small pieces
  • Cocoa powder to coat

Method of Rum truffle balls

Make dough by combining all.  Roll them into cocoa powder.  You can also coat them into nuts or in melted chocolate.

Apple verrine

Leave a Reply

