Healthy Panna Cotta ….with a healthy twist

healthy panna cotta

“The whole point of the week is weekend”

Angela Montenegro

We all love our weekends.  Sleeping late at night a day before and sitting a little longer with your morning cup.  I know after that they keep you on your toes but no complaints.  This little change is all  I look forward to. So when they were sleeping I decided to use the hung yogurt lying in my freeze.

It was one of the most satisfying healthy dessert I ever tasted. It’s texture was very creamy in spite of the fact that I used milk instead of cream.  The idea was not mine as usual, I find it on Smitten Kitchen’s blog, in which she mentioned you can either use cream or milk or half-half  both to make panna cotta.

panna  cotta

This casual panna cotta is quick to make.  I added the flavor of pomegranate but you can substitute  it with lemon, vanilla, coffee, orange etc. When strawberry and then stone fruits bid adieu to us I thought what next to add the extra glamour in my puds.

Healthy panna cotta

Of course apple, pear are in plenty and good too in desserts but I feel to add the extra oomph in my dessert I need something else. .  I find  pomegranate is the only luscious fruit which I think can add that appeal when stone fruit and strawberries are not in.  I searched but find nowhere any  recipe to use pomegranate in my dessert except the pomegranate molasses which was also a readymade option. I tried myself by making a thick sauce(recipe follows) of it. It really came out well and I added this sauce in small quantity but it does make my pc more healthier.  I have read that it is very difficult and require skill to unmold the panna cotta but a tip given by Donna Hay that oiling of mold in which you are pouring the mixture and after it sets releasing the sides first  by pressing the edges and you can never fail in unmolding it. It was so easy.  As always I thought It won’t set but it sets and came out too.   My husband rejected it as he doesn’t like the yogurt taste or whatever reasons except him all of us loved it.

Recipe adapted from Smitten Kitchen

Ingredients

Pomegranate Sauce

  • Pomegranate medium size – 2 (peeled)
  • Sugar – 2 tbsp
  • Lemon juice – 1 tsp
  • Corn flour – 1/8 tsp

Method of Pomegranate Sauce

In a pan simmer seeds of pomegranate with sugar till the seeds release it’s juices.  Seive it and cornflour and let is simmer till it becomes thick.  Remove from gas add juice. Keep in the fridge to cool.

Ingredients

for Panna cotta

  •  Neutral oil such as canola or safflola for greasing
  • 4 tablespoons (60 ml) water
  • 2 1/2 teaspoons (1 packet or 1/4 ounce or 7 grams) unflavored gelatin
  • 2 cups hung yogurt
  • 2 cups (475 ml) milk, heavy cream or a combination thereof
  • 1/4 to 1/2 cup (50 to 100 grams) granulated sugar
  • 2 tablespoons Pomegranate sauce (variation  I made)

Method

for panna cotta

Place water in a small bowl. Stir in gelatin and set aside until the gelatin softens, about 15 minutes.

In a large bowl, whisk all of yogurt and 1 cup of milk, cream or a mixture thereof. In a small saucepan, bring remaining milk or cream and sugar to a simmer. Stir in water-gelatin mixture (it will dissolve immediately) and remove from heat. Whisk this mixture into the yogurt mixture, then stir in pomegranate sauce at the end. Pour mixture into cake pan or smaller cups and chill in fridge for at least 2 hours for small cups and up to 8 for a large pan. It’s best to do this the night before you need it, to be safe.

I decorate it with rusk crumbs and pomegranate.

.Healthy Panna Cotta

One thought on “Healthy Panna Cotta ….with a healthy twist

  1. Pingback: Mango Panna Cotta..on World Environment Day…a plea | Bakingflavours

Leave a Reply

