Gazpacho.. a cool delight

gazpacho1

It was not the first time that I  tried my hands in making Gazpacho. I had made this earlier when I was a kid.

Gazpacho

I inherited my love for cooking by my father. He loves to cook food especially when we were having our exams he regularly came home early in order to make some feel good food for us.

At that time we used to have 2 cookbooks  One had lots of beautiful pictures. I love reading that book and trying making something out of them too which requires no cooking and when it requires some my mom used to help me. I remembered there was a beautiful picture of Gazpacho in it and after finding it needs no cooking I gave it a try then and now after years, again while flipping the pages of Goodfood Magazine I found a beautiful picture of gazpacho and all memories revived. In order to relive those moment I made it again.

Gazpacho
Gazpacho is usually a tomato based vegetable soup, traditionally served cold, origination in the southern Spanish region of Andalucia. Gazpacho is widely consumed in Spanish cuisine. Gazpacho is mostly consumed during the summer months, due to its refreshing qualities and cold serving temperature.(source Wikipedia).

Gazpacho
Recipe courtesy Goodfood Magazine India, September issue
Ingredients
• Spring Onion – 1( I used onion)
• Cucumber – ¼ peeled
• Roasted red pepper – 1 large (I roasted red pepper on gas)
• Tomatoes – 125gm
• Garlic Clove- ¼
• Vegetable Stock – 25 ml
• Salt and pepper to season
• Olive oil – ½ tbsp
• Sherry vinegar – a splash ( I used white vinegar)
• I added 1 piece of bread

Method
Dice a small amount of the onion, cucumber and red pepper and reserve for garnish. Now roughly chop the rest along with the tomatoes. Place the vegetable in a blender with the garlic, bread and vegetable stock and blend until smooth. Pass the gazpacho through a sieve and season with salt and pepper. Chill until needed (add a splash more stock if you prefer a thinner soup).
Note. To roast peppers from scratch, brush with oil and roast in the oven at 180 degree C for 20 minutes, turning them until all sides are charred. Remove and place covered in a bowl of chilled water. Peel off the charred skin and use.

Gazpacho

Leave a Reply

