Ragi Wheat Bread with spinach …no yeast

ragi bread

In the morning, newspaper was yet to arrive, so while sipping my tea I looked at another medium of information, face book and after taking a quick look what other bloggers were up to and seeing their beautiful creations.  I decided to bake bread.

After finishing my daily chores I went to buy ragi errrr…. rye flour. I wanted to bake rye bread if you have seen a baking book you must have noticed beautiful rye bread in it.   But in confusion I bought ragi flour.

ragi bread

I think this quotation was made keeping in mind my kind of confused persons.

Someday

everything  will make a

perfect sense.

So, for now, laugh at

the confusion,

smile through the tears

and keep reminding

yourself that

everything happens

For a reason

By… mediawebapps.com

Ragi Bread

I realized my mistake very soon and start searching what we can do with ragi flour.  Internet is really a good friend, guide and with each passing day I am getting more and more addictive to it. Finally I found an interesting as well as an easy recipe with ragi flour.

Interestingly it didn’t require yeast so an instant affair.  Though I made some changes like I doubled the curd and use milk to make a smooth batter. Earlier the dough was kind of tight dough. The texture came out was soft and we all had this bread in lunch instead of our usual chapatti.  It was so wholesome we all enjoyed it.  Next I will replace the sugar with salt to make savory bread with ragi.

The benefit of ragi was unknown to me until I made this bread.  Ragi is rich in calcium. Millet or Ragi as commonly known is regularly used in the South Kitchens.  It’s in fact the staple diet in many villages across South India.  People down South draw their strength heavily through consumption of Ragi.    Every experiment lets you to introduce to many new things.

Recipe adapted from NDTV Cooks by Illa Loomba

Ingredients

1 cup – ragi atta

1 cup – whole wheat atta

100g –  gur (I used castor sugar)

1 tsp –  refined oil

chopped spinach – 0.5 kg

Cup of curd (I used 2 cups)

baking soda – 1 tsp

Milk – ¼ cup

Method

Take a bowl and put the above ingredients in it.

Mix all the ingredients together till it gets consistency.

Spread the mixture in a baking dish and put in oven for 40 minutes at 180 degrees.

Take it out from the oven and slice evenly

Ragi bread

2 thoughts on “Ragi Wheat Bread with spinach …no yeast

  1. Thank you Vibha for sharing this recipe. I tried it out yesterday and the result was awesome. Both my mother and father utterly loved it.

Leave a Reply

