Beetroot Crinkles – healthy way of life

beetroot Crinkle

My desserts with healthy ingredients were going great hit amongst all of us.  Now I constantly use less sugar and try to replace flour with more whole some flours.  This way we can include the “healthy desserts” in our day to day meals.  Most importantly children were not able to get the slightest hint of healthy ingredient and that  gives me an opportunity to try more healthy ingredients  in my desserts.  I am waiting to try zucchini, carrots, pumpkin and ginger in my desserts.  But they are not yet available in the market and  winter is approaching fast so I can try them soon. Beetroot

This time I settled by beetroot   but that too was not available fresh.  It is so amazing that how these vegetable go so well in the dessert.  Hats off to the recipe developers, who have a vision to include vegetables in the dessert.

Beetroot Crinkle

My dessert with beetroot is crinkle. Crinkles have an almost brownie like texture.  But frankly I wanted to make beetroot brownie but accidently it came out as beetroot crinkle.  I have a standard recipe of fudgy brownie which I often make when I don’t have any source to look out for any recipe that might be at somebody’s place or on the sudden demand of children.  This recipe in on my tips and  in order to add beetroot in my brownie I replace the melted chocolate with beetroot but the batter came out as a cookie  dough type so I decided to bake them as cookie but the result was crinkle.   All well that ends well so no matter whether they are brownie, cookie or crinkle.   They were absolute delicious.  Seeing their texture I also decided to make some whoopie Pie by adding some filling.  Whoopie pie too have a  cake like texture but they are made  like a sandwich with some filling In it.

Beetroot Crinkle

On everybody’s demand I gave one  bite to each of them out of one crinkle to taste so that I can make whoopie pie out of the remaining but they liked it so much and they didn’t spare any.

Ingredients

  • 1 small beetroot – peeled and grated
  • 1 – egg
  • 2 tbsp – Butter or oil
  • 1 tsp – vanilla essence
  • ¼ cup – brown sugar
  • 1 cup – whole wheat flour
  • 1 tsp – baking powder
  • 2 tbsp – Cocoa powder
  • 2 tbsp – Choco chips

Method

Preheat the oven at 150 degree C.  Sieve all the dry ingredients.  Whisk sugar and butter, add egg, vanilla essence  and beetroot. Mix dry ingredients with the wet.  Make small balls with wet hands and press some chocolate chips over it.  Bake them for about 25 minutes.

Beetroot Crinkle

3 thoughts on “Beetroot Crinkles – healthy way of life

  1. Pingback: Oats Crackers and tomato oats soup ….on a World Heart Day | Bakingflavours

  2. Pingback: Oats and Chocolate Chip Cookies…morsel of goodness | Bakingflavours

  3. Pingback: Beetroot Whoopie Pie… a daring baker’s challenge | Bakingflavours

Leave a Reply

