Eggless Oats and apricot bars…..bringing festivity

oat and apricot bar

Festival season is on with first “Navaratra”.    These nine days and 10 nights are very auspicious for us.    During these nine days nine forms of shakti/Devi  are worshipped.   Most people keep fast for these days.  But I, the escapee from fasting, keep  only on 7th day.   The tenth day is commonly referred to as Vijaydashami or “Dussehra”.  During these days we don’t eat eggs, onions and garlic.

So many plans are whirling in my mind.  Festival means sweets, baking, shopping, and family.  Last year during these months of baking, I missed out the fun because I was bed ridden for long. Many things are bookmarked.  I don’t want to waste my precious months of festivals  by not baking. I  might be sounding crazy but baking really makes my day.

IMG_2670

Today was a very tiring day and adding more to my agony, our maid also did not arrived.  I wanted to bake then I thought why I am punishing myself. But no, for an obsessed baker like me this  was not a punishment. I quickly searched an easy recipe and decided to bake oat and apricot energy bar and while making my evening tea I quickly whisk up all the ingredients and my energy bars are ready in minutes.  I could not take many photographs because evening cooking was calling my name.

Oat and apricot bar

The result came out was very good.  It has a grainy texture because of sooji and adding chocolate sauce was the right decision because that makes it liked by kids too.

The mat you are seeing in the pictures was given to me by my son on my birthday as mentioned in my earlier post. Isn’t that beautiful?

Recipe adapted from FoodFood Channel

Ingredients

  • Flour – ½ cup(I replaced it with whole wheat)
  • Baking Powder – 1 tsp
  • Cinnamon Powder- ½ tsp
  • Rawa/sooji  – 1 Cup
  • Oats – 1 cup
  • Honey – 4 tbsp
  • Castor Sugar (I added myself, I found it less sweet)
  • Walnut – 10 – 12
  • Oil – 2 tbsp
  • Yogurt- 1 cup
  • Apricot – 10 (soak in water until tender)
  • Water – 1 cup (I added myself, I found the mixture with thick)

Chocolate sauce

  • Dark Chocolate – 50 gms
  • Cocoa – 1 tbsp
  • Milk – ¼ cup
  • Sugar (add if you find the sauce less sweet)

Method

Preheat the oven at 180 degree C.  Sieve flour, baking powder and cinnamon powder.  In a bowl soak curd, water and oats.   Whisk oil, honey and sugar.  Cut walnut and apricot into small pieces.  Finally add all.  Grease an 8” square tin and pour the above mixture and bake for 25 minutes or until the skewer came out clean.  Let it cool on wire rack. When cooled pour chocolate sauce.

Method of Chocolate Sauce

On slow flame cook all the ingredients until chocolate melts.  Continue cooking for 2 -3 minutes  more if you want thick sauce.

Oat and apricot bar

Leave a Reply

