Wholewheat Date and Walnut Cake with Toffee Sauce….preserving moments..

Wholewheat date and walnut cake

One of the greatest moments in anybody’s developing

experience is when he no longer tries to hide from

himself but determines to get acquainted with himself as he

 really is.

.Norman Vincent Peale

It’s been six months now.  I published my first post on April 6, 2013. Every time I finished drafting my post, I always wondered what next?  Not in terms of baking but in writing.  Earlier when I started this blog  every time I click the publish button I feel like hiding somewhere because of my mistakes in  writing,  but today things have changed not that I have improved it’s just that I started  believing that the connection is food and the feelings behind baking  matters.  Of course, writing is important and really appreciate who writes so well,  but I know you will pardon me for that.

These clicks are my favorites.

my favourite

I always write about taste, passion, my family but believe me  that is all I have to share.  I do try to incorporate from time to time the various progresses like “joining Daring Bakers” and “Gourmet Table Beetroot Contest (GTBC)” and next I wanted to join “Secret recipe club” but they take bloggers who have done at least 100 posts.  Oh! By the way a sad news to share I lost the GTBC.

Date and Walnut Cake

Please do suggest what else I can do to make my post more meaningful.

I bake this cake some time back like all these. My toffee sauce’s  color  has not come out so beautifully because I experimented with this also by reducing the sugar to half but trust me I have tried this  recipe before with full sugar and its color and taste was luscious. So in this case I won’t suggest you to reduce the sugar.

Recipe  adapted from Sanjeev Kapoor.

Ingredients

  • Butter – ¼ cup
  • Brown Sugar – 1 Cup(I make  it little more than ½ cup)
  • Eggs – 3
  • Vanilla Essence – 1 tsp
  • All purpose flour –  1 ½ cup (I used whole wheat flour)
  • Baking powder – 1 tsp
  • Water – 1 ¼ cup
  • Date – 1 ½ cup (seedless and chopped)
  • Baking Soda – 1 tsp
  • Milk – ¼ cup, optional (I added myself, as the consistency was very thick)

Method

In a pan over low heat cook dates in water till they become soft then switch off the flame and add baking soda.  Preheat the oven at 180 degree C and whisk butter and sugar till it become pale yellow with electric beater   now add eggs one by one whisking after each addition.  In another bowl, sieve flour and  baking powder. Finally fold dry ingredients with the egg mixture and gently fold date mixture (remember it should be at room temperature) if the batter is very thick add milk.

Ingredients for Toffee Sauce

  • Butter – ¼ cup
  • Brown Sugar – 1 Cup
  • Thick Cream – 1 ½ cup
  • Honey – ¼ cup

Method

In a pan over low heat put sugar and let it melts, stir one or two times in between.  When it changes color add cream carefully and add all other ingredients.  Stir them until all mixes well.

Date and Walnut Cake

One thought on “Wholewheat Date and Walnut Cake with Toffee Sauce….preserving moments..

  1. Pingback: Sticky Date Pudding in Orange Juice with Chocolate Syrup….happy happy time | Bakingflavours

Leave a Reply

