Eggless Oats and Wholewheat Brownies…. for my loving sister

Oats and Wholewheat Brownie

She is as a person, is the most caring and loving.  Even today she is one who wish everyone first, on birthdays and anniversaries.  For me, she is the alarm who reminds me of everybody’s birthdays.  She can bring smile on  anybody’s face  by her cute little gifts, which were bought not out of boundation but after careful thinking and is the one supports you first  when you are in pain.

My sister lives just  15 – 18 kms away from my house even then we don’t meet very often, just once in 4 months. His son loves chocolate, ice cream or you just name any other junk food he loved them all.  But child obesity is something which is slowly becoming a major problem everywhere; blame it on atmosphere, food or lack of exercise.  Children are now preferring indoor games in the comfort of A.C. . .  I think we are equally responsible by becoming so concerned that we don’t let them play outside sometimes because of dengue or sometimes weather bothered us.

Oats and Wholewheat Brownie

So that concerned her too and she has now becoming more careful with his son’s eating habits.  But for me families get together means something sweet.  It didn’t take me long to decide what to bake as he loves my brownie. But this times a healthier brownie with oats and less sugar.

Oats and Wholewheat Brownie

I googled the net and the recipe I found perfectly suits my search.   I made caramel sauce too, that in case, it came out too bland.  But trust me the brownie was so good that when I came in the room to offer him sauce. Nothing left.  I used the sauce in my share.   My sis also liked it so much that she asked me the recipe but that is a different story that her version came out as a disc.  But when I called his son to enquire, how is the brownie that her mother made? He very sweetly said that it was tasty but she put more flour in it.  I believe the reason behind her failure was that she doesn’t have measuring spoons or cups that led her cake came out as a disc.  Baking as you know is a science with exact measurements.

Oats and Wholewheat Brownie

When we meet she always bring whatever my latest interest is like earlier it was handicrafts then it changed to clothes and now props.   Whenever she goes to market to buy something for her she came out buying for everyone excluding her.

Oats and wholewheat brownie1

Recipe adapted from Easy Cooking

  • Whole wheat flour/Atta – 1 1/2 cups
  • Oats – 3/4 cup
  • Cocoa powder – 2 tbsp
  • Baking powder – 1 tsp
  • Dark Chocolate – 150 gms,melted and cooled
  • Dark Brown Sugar – 4 tbsp[I used white sugar]
  • Milk – 2 cups
  • Sunflower Oil – 5 tbsp

    Method

Preheat oven to 180C–Grease/line an 8′ square cake pan.In a mixing bowl,mix together flour,oats,cocoa powder and baking powder.In another bowl,mix together milk,sugar and oil.Mix the liquid ingredients into the flour mix slowly.Fold in the melted chocolate.Transfer the batter into the pan and smooth the tops with a spatula.Bake for 30 minutes,the centre will still be soft at this stage.

When completely cool,cut into 16 squares.

Oats and Wholewheat Brownie

3 thoughts on “Eggless Oats and Wholewheat Brownies…. for my loving sister

  1. Pingback: Eggless Persimmon and Cranberry Brownie with Whole wheat flour …..edible gifting ideas#5 | Bakingflavours

Leave a Reply

