Wholewheat Marie-Helene’s Apple Cake, eggless….on Karwa Chauth

Marie-Helene's Apple Cake

Sometimes I visit malls just to buy some fruits and veggies which are not available in our local market, may be because of less demand.  But one fine day I was jumping with joy when I saw Granny Smith green apples here, in our market and I knew Apple Cake  is in making. Green apples were considered as best in the dessert because of their tartness.  They are rich source of fibers more than the regular red apples and my son loved green apples.   I searched the net and I found Marine-Helene’s Apple Cake  and with no cinnamon.  To your surprise  I don’t like apple in my desserts and with cinnamon I just hate it.  I know, apple and cinnamon is a combination which complement each other very well but not for me. And in this recipe it was not paired with cinnamon.  I decided to give this a try.  It came out so moist and loved by all, including me.

Marie-Helene Brunet-Lhoste is a woman who knows her way around food. She’s top editor of the Louis Vuitton City Guides (and one of the restaurant critics for Paris edition)(source:epicurious)

Today was a very busy day with all the preparation for the Karwa Chauth  and then lots of  cooking.  Somehow I was trying to work on my post but wordpress was not connecting inspite of my repeated trials.  When I was complaining you about wordpress, it suddenly connected.

Granny Smith

Karwa Chauth is an annual one day festival celebrated by Hindu women in North India.  On this all married women keep fast from sunrise to moonrise for the safety and longevity of their husbands.   Karwa means Diya  and Chauth  means fourth, it falls on the fourth day after the full moon, in the Hindu lunisolar calendar month of Kartik.  (source: Wikipedia). On this day all married women apply henna(mehandi) on their hands.

Mehandi

We don’t eat onion and garlic on this day and forget about egg.  This cake seems perfect for this big day and the egg didn’t bother me much  I replaced it with hung curd.

Marie-Helene's Apple Cake

Recipe adapted from PBS

Ingredients

  • ¾ cup all-purpose flour (I used wholewheat flour)
  • ¾ teaspoon baking powder
  • Pinch of salt
  • 4 medium size apples (I used granny smith)
  • 2  eggs (I took hung curd as 1 egg is around 30gm so for 2 eggs replacement 60gms hung curd)
  • ¾ cup sugar (I used ½ cup)
  • 3 tablespoons dark rum(I used orange juice)
  • ½ teaspoon pure vanilla extract
  • 90 gms unsalted butter, melted and cooled
  • Almonds (8-9)- thinly sliced

Method 

Center a rack in the oven and preheat the oven to 350° degrees F. Line a muffin tray with a liner(it is an important step otherwise apples with stick to the tray).

Whisk the flour, baking powder, and salt together in small bowl.

Peel the apples, cut them in half and remove the cores. Cut the apples into 1- to 2-inch chunks.

In a medium bowl, beat the curd. Pour in the sugar and whisk for a minute or so to blend. Whisk in the juice and vanilla. Whisk in half the flour and when it is incorporated, add half the melted butter, followed by the rest of the flour and the remaining butter, mixing gently after each addition so that you have a smooth, rather thick batter. Switch to a rubber spatula and fold in the apples, turning the fruit so that it’s coated with batter. Pour the mixture into the muffin tray .

Sprinkle  slivered almonds over the small tins.

Slide the pan into the oven and bake for 30 to 40 minutes, or until the top of the muffin are  golden brown and a knife inserted deep into the center comes out clean. Transfer to a cooling rack and let rest for 5 minutes.

The cake can be served warm or at room temperature, with or without a little softly whipped, barely sweetened heavy cream or a spoonful of ice cream.

Marie-Helene's Apple Cake

7 thoughts on “Wholewheat Marie-Helene’s Apple Cake, eggless….on Karwa Chauth

  1. What’s Happening i’m new to this, I stumbled upon this I have discovered It positively useful and it has aided me out loads. I’m hoping to contribute & help different customers like its helped me. Great job.|

Leave a Reply

