Whole wheat Banana and Coconut Tea Loaf (eggless) …..healthy start

wholewheat coconut and banana loaf

Recently I came to know about the technique of taking the coconut out of the hard shell easily without breaking the shells into pieces,  just to try whether it works or not, I bought a coconut and this time I didn’t ask my husband to take the coconut out of the shell  instead  I guided him the right method.  Actually I was more interested in the shells which can be used for serving or for the clicking.  As you can see in my pictures a beautiful plate and a spoon which I bought long time ago from Dilli Haat are also made up of coconut shells. I too wanted to create a masterpiece.

Wholewheat Coconut banana tea loaf

The technique is  to cut the coconut into half, take out the water and keep  the cut out pieces in the freeze for half an hour not more than that, this process of freezing soak the extra moisture between the shell and the coconut  and they slide off easily  by just  running  the knife carefully .  It really works.  I saw this in Zee Khana Khazana in the show “How se Wow tak”  I am not a big fan of coconut but my other family members loves coconut.

Banana and coconut tea loaf

It came out  as a  nice loaf which can be best served with tea.   And you know after much ado I did not do anything with the shells they just keep lying in the freeze for  3 days and after that while the time to clean up the clutter out of the freeze   I threw the shells.

Coconut oil, coconut milk, coconut water, coconut flour, flesh and dry coconut  are increasingly used in home kitchens.  Of course it is rich in calories  and saturated fats but eating in moderation has lots of health benefits due to its fiber and nutritional content.  Ditto is with banana which is also a rich source of protein, potassium

Coconut and Banana

Recipe adapted from Foodfood Channel  on show Teatime with Rakesh Sethi

http://www.foodfood.com/recipes/banana-coconut-tea-loaf/

Ingredients

  • 3 cup refined flour (I replaced it with whole wheat flour)
  • 1 cup grated coconut (I grinded it)
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 4 mashed bananas
  • 2 tbsp maple syrup (I used honey)
  • 2 tbsp oil
  • ¼ cup  milk (I added to make it little smooth)

Preparation method

In a bowl, combine whole wheat flour, grated coconut, baking powder, baking soda , mashed bananas,  honey , oil and milk and prepare a thick batter. Pur this batter in a greased baking tin and bake in a pre-heated oven at 180* for 40 minutes. Remove and cut into slices and serve.

whole wheat banana and coconut tea loaf

Leave a Reply

