Hazelnut, Oats and Banana Cookies…can’t resist

hazelnut and banana cookies

Don’t  follow the recipe blindly

make some changes, if required.

Chef Vineet Bhatia

Baking cookies always excites  as well as scares me   because when I started baking, cookies were something which never came  out  near to perfect, sometimes burnt, sometimes under baked and sometimes spread all over my baking sheet.  So I always take them as a challenge,  whenever I saw beautiful pictures of cookies.  They  inspire me to bake. hazelnut, oats and banana Cookies

While flipping through the pages of “Step by step baking”    I came across this recipe but as I guessed and little visible from the picture, the cookies were not bind nicely but somehow the recipe seems interesting to me with just oats, hazelnut and hazelnut spread.  For this recipe I went especially to the market to buy hazelnut spread and I am sure it won’t be lying in the freeze in anybody’s house having small children around, I always bought this spread without letting my son know it otherwise all will be gone and nothing will be left for my baking.

Hazelnut, oats and banana cookies

When I made this, as expected the dough  were not binding at all.  So I added a banana and  some wheat flour I would be lying if I say that it does not bother me, if it fails, after adding so expensive hazelnut spread, hazelnut and oats, so much of butter and banana I don’t want my this recipe to fail.  Believe me, they were the best cookies I ever had in my life but my son didn’t like it because of the banana flavor in it.  I would definitely recommend this cookie to the entire cookies lover.   But you must overlook the amount of so many calories gone into making this.  Uh uh hhhh….. ! Am I sounding too concerned?

May be the original recipe tasted much better than my version.  But after so many failures I follow my senses and here you go a perfect recipe in my repertoire.

Before you make this, a word of warning – when you start baking  the butter seems too much in cookie.  But slowly as they baked, they will absorb it.

Recipe minimally adapted from the book Step by step baking from LoveFood

Ingredients

  • Butter – 90 gms
  • Chocolate Hazelnut spread – 2/3 cup
  • Rolled oats – 2 cups
  • Chopped  blanched hazelnuts – 2/3 cup
  • Ripe banana – 1 (mashed)
  • Whole wheat flour – ¼ cup

Method

Preheat the oven to 200 degree Celsius.  Grease a baking sheet.

Place the butter and chocolate hazelnut spread in a pan and heat gently until just melted.

Add the rolled oats and hazelnuts to the chocolate mixture and stir to combine thoroughly.

Add banana and wheat flour with hands.

Shape the mixture into 18 balls, then press onto the baking sheet.  Bake in the preheated oven, and let stand until firm before transferring to a wire rack to finish cooling.

Hazelnut, oats and banana Cookie

Leave a Reply

