Fat free Pumpkin and Mixed Vegetable Soup

We all are down with bad throat, nausea and fever; it all started with my husband and later spread to all.  He as usual will treat himself by drinking hot water, time and again and my mother-in-law by having onion and yes, believe it or not, it really helps.  But me and my son always needs doctor whether the problem is very small or big.  We just can’t go right without taking strong antibiotics, what to do.

Pumpkin Soup

For me bad throat means soups. I remember whenever we fall ill my mom used to serve us a big bowl of tomato soup or spinach soup. I  loved my bowlful of soups unlike my brother and sister.  So even today whenever I fall ill I think of soups. But here,   soup is just a complete no-no even when they were ill.   I was not feeling like eating anything and pumpkin puree was lying in the freeze from my last pumpkin cake.  I just added the puree to my mixed vegetable soup and it tasted wonderful, it added a dash of sweetness to my soup.   I loved it.

Pumpkin and mixed vegetable soup

Thanks Vandana, for these beautiful cups and coasters.

Serves 1

Ingredients

  • Tomatoes – 2 (chopped)
  • Onion – ½ (chopped)
  • Garlic – 4 cloves(you can adjust according to your taste)
  • Ginger, a small piece
  • Pumpkin Puree – ¼ cup (recipe in my earlier post pumpkin, orange and chocolate swirl cake)
  • Water – 1 cup
  • Salt as per taste
  • Pepper as per taste

Method

Put   tomatoes, onion, garlic and ginger and water in a cooker and give two whistles.  After releasing pressure from cooker blend everything including pumpkin puree and sieve everything.  Be careful,  while blending.  Serve hot.

Of course, you can double or triple the ingredients according to your requirement, most importantly I didn’t  added any cream.  It is a very simple recipes but it tasted wonderful. Traditionally pumpkin soup is made with just pumpkin, and onion and cream.  I haven’t tried that version. But of course, I can vouch for this recipe.

Pumpkin and mixed Vegetable soup

One thought on “Fat free Pumpkin and Mixed Vegetable Soup

  1. Pingback: Pumpkin Pie | Bakingflavours

Leave a Reply

