Whole wheat Fudgy Coconut Brownie……enjoying winters

coconut brownies

Now, when winter has arrived and made our work double by adding more clothes everywhere.  But I welcome winter, with my arms open through closed door, yes that’s the tragedy with people not leaving in sun facing houses.  Even when the Sun is shining brightly outside, it is too cold inside our houses.  In months of winter, warm sunlight comes only in November,  in our house,  and that too for just one hour, in a small corner, where just one person can sit.  That is my most awaited time of the day, when I sit with my laptop and my cup of tea.   I try to get that precious sunlight by finishing my work before that hour.

Fudgy Coconut Brownie

My weekend went very busy.  My son has some competition and we both worked together for his presentation.  We wanted to incorporate so many things into his project but other household chores also have to be finished and above all no water that day.   But finally, we both managed to get beautiful presentation.  I will tell you about the result when it will come.

Fudgy Coconut Brownie

I made coconut brownies this week, every time I pinned the cutout of this recipe on my pin board, I end up making some healthy recipe, as it has lots of fats in it and that has kept me away so far from this lovely dessert.   You know, sometimes my friends asked me how I manage to make so many desserts,  leave apart making how I manage to consume so much of sweet and to that my answer is joint family. You know most of the times everyone gets just a nibble so  I am thankful to them, they all love my desserts and I am equally excited to serve them too.  This is the only way I can show my culinary experiments.

Fudgy Coconut Brownie

This brownie came out very soft and coconut.

Recipe adapted from an old issue of Goodfood Magazine. I halved the recipe.

Serves 10

Ingredients

  • Cocoa powder – 100gm
  • Butter – 250 gms
  • Brown sugar – 400 gms
  • Eggs – 4
  • Self-raising  whole wheat flour – 100gms
  • Desiccated coconut – 100gm
  • Icing sugar – to dust (optional)

Method

Heat oven to 180 degree C.  Line the base of a 21 cm square tin with baking parchment.   Put the cocoa, butter and sugar in your largest saucepan and gently melt, stirring so the mixture doesn’t catch.

When the cocoa mixture is melted and combined, cool slightly, then stir in the eggs little by little, followed by the flour and coconut.

Tip into the tin and baked for about 45 minutes on a middle shelf – check after 30 minutes and cover with another piece of baking parchment if the crust is browning too much.  Cool in the tin, then carefully lift out and cut into squares.

Fudgy Coconut Brownie

5 thoughts on “Whole wheat Fudgy Coconut Brownie……enjoying winters

  1. its become cold here too, but not as compared to the dilli ki sardi 🙂 the brownies have got a nice dark rich color and tone.

  2. Pingback: Eggless Persimmon and Cranberry Brownie with Whole wheat flour …..edible gifting ideas#5 | Bakingflavours

Leave a Reply

