Minestrone…..humble and simple

Minestrone

Everybody has its own style of making minestrone with varying ingredients.  Minestrone is a thick soup of Italian origin made with vegetables, often with the addition of pasta or rice.  There is no set recipe for minestrone.  It is usually made out of whatever vegetables are in season.  It started out as a way for the poor people of Italy to make due on the limited vegetable they had access to.  The soup dates back to the Roman time when soldiers ate it as a staple.

cut  vegetables

Pasta added the required carbohydrates and it becomes a full course meal.  It is very fulfilling and tasty too.  I always loved this kind of chunky soups.  In fact, clear soups become favorites only at the times of illness.  I made my child’s favorite pasta this morning (recipe will soon be shared) and some cut vegetables left, so I used them to make minestrone,  I saw this recipe sometime back on FoodFood Channel. I had with me broccoli, baby corn, capsicum and peppers.  You can have this any time of the day when you want to have something healthy as well as quick.

 Minestrone

I made this recipe thinking it is Zuppa Minestrone but later when I searched the net I found Zuppa Minestrone is an Italian beef vegetable soup.  So I deleted Zuppa from the title.

Minestrone

Wondering this type of soup, I had earlier also when I am in a jiffy, but never knew that I am having minestrone.

Serves 1

Recipe adapted from Foodfood Channel

Ingredients

  • 1 spring onion
  • 4 garlic cloves, grated
  • A small piece of ginger, grated
  • Olive oil – 1 tsp3 – 4 diced baby corns
  • 5 small florets of broccoli
  • ½  yellow pepper
  • ½ capsicum
  • Boiled pasta – ¼ cup
  • Salt and pepper to taste
  • Tomatoes – 2 diced
  • Vegetable stock or plain water – 1 ½ cup

Method

Heat olive oil in a heavy bottomed pan an add garlic and ginger.  Cook until they begin to soften.

Add diced tomatoes, yellow pepper, capsicum, baby corns and broccoli  and vegetable stock.  Simmer covered with a lid till the vegetables are almost cooked.

Steep in the cooked pasta.  Serve hot with baquettes.  Drizzle some olive oil, if you want.

Finish with spring onion greens , and season with salt and pepper.

Minestrone

Leave a Reply

