Carrot Cake …..brought memoirs from sister

wholewheat carrot cake

Last weekend, I went to my sister’s place and as expected I  carried cake with me.  I wanted to take something other than brownies.  For a long long time, I wanted to make Zucchini Cake, but that has not arrived in the market and in mall it was too expensive, so I finally settled for Carrot Cake.

wholewheat carrot cake1

But my earlier experience with carrots, that were not in season, was very bad and was rejected by children altogether.  I was a little apprehensive, because sweet carrots have yet to arrive, but when I saw red carrots I felt a little relaxed but to be more on the safer side I just grated the outer part and discard the inner portion and voila a wonderfully moist and best carrot cake in hand. My tight schedule left me to do the simple truffle icing with some almonds on top instead of mascarpone icing (a combination made for each other) but that too, believe me tasted wonderful.  .  My all this ado left me to reach late to her house and her whole lot of messages were there on my mobile, about when I am reaching? There she shown me some old pictures of kids and I took this one beautiful picture to share with you all.  I wanted to see her whole lot of collection but later refused because she had lots of things to talk and share.

angels

Every time I went to her place in winters we both had wonderful conversation on her roof while enjoying the sun and kids too were happy, all they need is space to run around.  As always I bought some wall stickers near her market. From there I have collected so many beautiful wall stickers.  And later I ended my beautiful short trip by having shots in Café coffee day.

wholewheat carrot cake2

I have this recipe in my recipe note book, when my only source of recipes is Foodfood channel and any recipe of cake left me with noting down steps.  I have a huge collection of recipes.   Now I never note down any recipes, thanks to internet.  I know it came late to my life but better late than never. Even today I bake sometimes from these notes.  This is one from my notes, a recipe by Master chef Sanjeev Kapoor.

Ingredients

  • Carrots – 6 medium (not yet in season so just grated  the outer part and discard the inner part), if in season take 3 only
  • Whole wheat flour – 1 ¼ cup
  • Oil – 83 ml
  • Baking powder – ½ tsp
  • Baking soda –  ¼ tsp
  • Cinnamon Powder –  1/8 tsp
  • Salt – ¼ tsp
  • Eggs – 1 ½
  • Powdered Brown Sugar – 1/2 cup + 2 tbsp
  • Yogurt – ¼ cup + ½ (1/4 cup)
  • Nutmeg – 1/8 tsp
  • Cashew nuts – 6 -7 chopped

Diced almonds  and chocolate sauce to decorate

Method

Preheat the oven to 180 degree C. Sieve all dry ingredients.  Beat eggs with sugar till fluffy. Add grated carrots and mix well.  Add oil and yogurt and beat well. Finally fold in the dry ingredients and add chopped cashew nuts.  Bake in an oiled and flour dusted 7” cake tin for about 40 to 45 minutes.  Serve hot.  If desired, drizzle some chocolate sauce and diced almonds.

Piece of carrot cake

Leave a Reply

