Persimmon and Strawberry Crumble….shopping time and macaron experience

Persimmons and Strawberry Crumble

Have I told you this before about my weekly desire to go out on weekend?   This weekend too I enjoyed a lot and you would surely want to see what was there in my shopping bag!!!

shopping items

What else can you expect from a baker’s shopping bag?  Because of these knick knacks I love going out.   So now you know what would be in the menu for the coming week.  Recently lot of my bloggers friends has used persimmons in their desserts and that inspires me too.   I too want to use this fruit, which was like an alien to me.  But I searched the net and found about Hachiya and Fuyu Persimmons varieties.

Persimmons

Hachiya variety which should be supremely ripe otherwise tasted tart. Ripe hachiyas are unbelievably soft and are often almost liquefied into a silky smooth pulp inside. They are thought of as “baking” persimmons. Fuyu persimmons are distinguished by their “flat” bottoms and squat shape.  Fuyus are commonly eaten raw, often sliced and peeled and salads.   They have black seeds in them.  (Source:localfoods.about.com)

strawberries

So after going through all this I think  I bought  Fuyu variety. In north India it is called by the name Ramphal .  It is a nice fruit to eat.  I can say made for desserts.  May be I judged incorrectly but for me,  it is just plain sweet and in fruits I always want a tanginess, which is not there in this fruit but it certainly adds a very beautiful color and flavor in desserts. Otherwise eating it plain is not my type.

This fruit has higher level of dietary fiber, sodium, potassium magnesium, calcium, iron and manganese and vitamin C but lower levels of copper and zinc.

Persimmons and strawberry crumble

This is not the only thing which I discovered during my visit to mall.  I also tasted for the first time,  a shop bought Macron from Choko La at an exhorbant price of Rs. 90 and it was much much smaller in size that I made.  I wanted to make macron again but this time with nuts so I wanted to taste to know whether my bake is somewhat closer or not.

persimmon and strawberry bake

Ahhh…! Time to finish my long story and till now, I haven’t told you,  how it tasted? Divine, reminds me of summer fruits crumble.

Recipe adapted from Foodfood Channel, Teatime series with Chef Rakesh Sethi. I just replaced the apples with persimmons and it tasted divine.

Ingredients

  • 2 persimmons
  • 15-20 strawberries
  • 2 tbsp sugar
  • ½ cup toasted oats
  • 4 tbsp wheat flour
  • 4 tbsp brown sugar
  • 1 tsp cinnamon powder
  • 2 tbsp butter

Method

Peel and cut persimmons add diced strawberries. Add them to a bowl and add castor sugar , mix well.  In a separate bowl Add tasted oats, wheat flour , brown sugar , cinnamon powder and butter and mix well. Now put the fruit mixture in a baking dish , and add the prepared crumble in a preheated oven at 180 * C for  15-20 minutes . Remove and serve hot.

Persimmon and strawberry crumble

One thought on “Persimmon and Strawberry Crumble….shopping time and macaron experience

  1. Pingback: Eggless Persimmon and Cranberry Brownie with Whole wheat flour …..edible gifting ideas#5 | Bakingflavours

Leave a Reply

