Roasted Chickpeas…edible gifting ideas for Christmas #2

Roasted Chickpeas

Every day I gear up for another baking adventure.  I know there is whole lot of backlog of so many dishes, beautiful clicks ready to show off.  But still, everyday something new excites me and encourage me to bake.  Any ways compiling your work into computers is a tedious task and takes whole lot of time and I am least interested in doing.  What if?

  • Our computer reads our mind and does the compiling
  • And, we don’t become fat after eating as much  as sweet we want.
  • We have more time.
  • I can get a Doraemon without the gazettes for my son ( he said he needs a friend  like him) ……sensible wish
  • I become the Prime Minister  Uh hhhh….
  • And the list is endless…..

Back to compiling, my old stuff have to wait for one month because for this month I have started a new series “Edible Gifting Ideas”.

Roasted Chickpeas1

I understand you must be tired of eating my sweet treat for long (hehehe….. visually).  This time I have made something savory for you (visually).  These are quite addictive and keep well for 2 to 3 days but no need to worry, they will be so addictive that once you start eating them you won’t stop until they were finished but to be on the safe side  made that can be consumed that in a day or the two.  It’s a great edible gifting idea.

You can be creative with spices like you can add garam masala , garlic powder, amchur powder or any herbs you can add.  Choices are unlimited.

My drive to health has helped me to eat and serve guilt free.  Until now, I haven’t saw or received any complaint but see how other things turned out.

Roasted Chickpeas

Recipe adapted from a T.V show 5 ingredients mix

Serves 4

Ingredients

  • Chickpeas – 2 cups
  • Paprika – 2 tsp
  • Pepper – 1 tsp
  • Salt to taste
  • Olive oil –  3 tbsp

Method

Soak the chickpeas in water overnight.  Boil the chickpeas for about 10 minutes in a cooker. After they were partly boiled drain them well.   You can of course, retain the water for another purpose.   Pat them dry (very important step) in a clean kitchen towel.  Coat them with spices and salt and oil.   Preheat the oven to 175 degree.  Line a baking sheet with parchment and spread the chickpeas on it.  Bake them in a preheated oven for about 40 min to 45 minutes.   Shake them in between to avoid burning on one side.  In between keep checking,  and lower the temperature, if they were burning on one side.  .  Let them cool.  Keep in a air tight container.

Roasted Chickpeas

Leave a Reply

