5 minute Fig nutter..edible gifting idea for Christmas #3

Dry fruit Laddoos

My son and husband went for a wedding, I didn’t go because of the boils on my leg.  I had enough time while they were out. But time would be difficult to kill because whenever I am free for so long I bake, but today when I stepped out to bake, the pain doesn’t allow me move. So I kept  lying with  my internet on, to  see what to bake next when I will be well.  I noted  down some ingredients in my diary, of course, I can bookmarked them but whipping up something with your phone on and checking ingredients makes it really dirty.  So after various trials, I thought writing down would be a better option.

MALL VISIT

My illness and my son exams  didn’t let us move  anywhere this weekend.  I satisfied myself by watching some of the old pictures which I took some time back on the premises of a mall.  Sometimes I don’t visualize why such things which I often  see in the market like in the photographs and wonder why and for whom such things are made like this metal purse, glittering sandals, fur jackets and many more things?  But I strongly believe there is a buyer of everything. I remember last time I bought a empty fruit box from my fruit vendor and everybody was laughing(I bought this as a prop),  sometimes I am in search of wooden planks.  Obsessive buyers like me exists everywhere.

Fig nutter

This time for my edible gifting ideas  series, I decided to make these healthy nutters for my loved ones. They were so good and that too without any sugar. We all know the goodness of figs but the bad thing is we don’t get them as a fruit instead we get them as dry fruit.  Recently my  bhabhi told me that if you have any problem of Sinus, eat them two pieces daily and it will cured altogether.

Check out my other ladoos  recipes

Again this recipe I adapted from my favorite blogger Dassana.  Like her previous recipes this too came out as  perfect.

IMG_4064

Recipe adapted from Vegrecipesofindia

Ingredients

  • 1 cup chopped dates
  • 2 to 3 tbsp almonds or badam
  • 2 tbsp raisins
  • 1 to 2 tbsp cashews
  • 8-9 whole dry figs
  • 1 to 2 tbsp desiccated coconut (optional)
  • 2 green cardamom pods, peeled and seeds crushed in a      mortar-pestle

Instructions

  1. firstly begin to roast the almonds in a pan till they      get browned.
  2. keep stirring the almonds at intervals.
  3. whilst the almonds are roasting, chop the dates and      figs.
  4. also peel the cardamom pods and powder the seeds      coarsely in a mortar-pestle.
  5. in a dry grinder add the chopped dates, figs, raisins,      almonds, desiccated coconut and the coarsely powdered cardamom powder.
  6. add the roasted almonds.
  7. grind to a coarse mixture and spread on a tray or plate      or take the mixture in a bowl.
  8. make small balls from your hands and the fig nutter are      ready.
  9. serve the fig nutter immediately or store in an air      tight container and refrigerate. Fig nutter  stays good for a few days

Fig nutter

Leave a Reply

