Wholewheat Pumpkin Crackers and Roasted Bell Pepper Sauce….gifting ideas for Christmas#6

CRACKERS1

Though I love making desserts but I don’t like eating them much.  I always preferred savoury and spicy things.   Whenever I want to take a break from baking something sweet,  I opt for either crackers  or soup.

Pumpkin Crackers

This time when hunger strikes of my blog I decided to bake something savoury and my surfing started.

IMG_5352

But the tragedy was that they all calls for cheesy ingredients, which neither my son nor I like and getting those different kind of cheese was also an issue and above all using the leftover cheese was  also a concern, so after taking full circle I settled for crackers.  Some pumpkin puree was lying in the freeze, so I used it in my crackers in place of water to make the dough I threw in some fenugreek and ready to rock ‘n’ roll.

Knowing that my son didn’t like crackers, I put lots of chillies in it and seeing me adding lots of chillies into the dough, my son came to me and said I will eat this too, so that this time I am not able to blame him for not having, what I have baked!!!!  Very smart isn’t he?

CRACKERS2

As usual I didn’t able to roll them very thin but still they came out very crisp.

This time I didn’t serve my beauties alone, I made a super delicious Roasted Bell Pepper sauce from Nigella recipes. My husband and mom-in- law likes it so much that whenever or whatever they are eating they want this sauce with it.

IMG_5286

Serves 6

Ingredients for Pumpkin Crackers

  • Pumpkin Puree – ½ cup
  • Red Jumbo Chillies – 2 (you can use normal green chillies also)
  • Fenugreek – small bunch
  • Salt and Pepper according to taste
  • Whole wheat Flour – 1 ½ cup (you can add more if the consistency of the dough is very dough)
  • Carom Seeds – ½ tsp
  • Baking Powder – ½ tsp
  • Sesame seeds – 2 tsps

Method

Sift flour, baking powder and salt.  Knead tight dough by adding all the ingredients in the flour mixture.    Divide the dough into 2 pieces.  Take one piece of dough at a time to roll.  Sprinkle some flour onto the back of the baking tray and roll directly there, roll as thin as possible.  Use a sharp knife to cut the dough into the desired shapes.  With the help of a pastry brush, brush some water onto the rolled sheet and sprinkle sesame seeds and press slightly, so that they won’t come out when baked. Preheat the oven to 200 degree C.  Bake the crackers for 3-4 minutes. As soon as the crackers on the sides started to brown take them out and let others bake more for few more minutes. Keep a constant eye on them to avoid burning.  Remember they burn very quickly (this had happened with me many times, so stay there and keep checking). Crackers which were lying in the centre may take few more minutes.  Continue with other part of the dough.  They can be kept well for a week in a closed lid jar.

Recipe adapted from Nigella Kitchen.(I watch this recipe on her show on t.v, but on her site I won’t able to find that recipe, so I am giving direct link to her recipe site)

Ingredients for Roasted Red Bell Pepper Chilly Sauce

  • Red Jumbo chillies – 2
  • Roasted Red bell pepper – 1
  • Salt to taste
  • Olive oil – 2 tbsp
  • Garlic – 2 cloves
  • Ginger, a small piece
  • Coriander – ½ bunch +1/2 bunch

Method

Remove the seeds from bell pepper and cut into pieces add  whole red chillies including seeds, salt, garlic,ginger,1/2 bunch of coriander. Grind them into a thick paste.  Now add remaining coriander and olive oil and give it a quick blitz. Can be kept well in the freeze for 3 –  4 days.

Crackers

Do check my other crackers recipe

Ragi and whole wheat crackers

2 thoughts on “Wholewheat Pumpkin Crackers and Roasted Bell Pepper Sauce….gifting ideas for Christmas#6

  1. Pingback: Christmas Fruit cake…..Merry Christmas | Bakingflavours

  2. Pingback: Malta and Red Chilli Jam….using my precious gifts | Bakingflavours

Leave a Reply

