Whole wheat Spicy Gingerbread Cookies…edible gifting ideas #9

gingerbread cookies1

For work, my father has to visit many places outside Delhi and whenever we have holidays,  we also happily  tagged with him and have lots ‘n’  lots of  fun, those beautiful memories are stored in my heart unlike these ones which are in my blog. The only difference is that these memories, even you all can see, but don’t get disappointed I will tell you about them one by one because my husband has now tired of hearing them but  I can’t blame him, its now more than 10 years and  toleration has a limit and now even my son says. “mom tomorrow” but he hehe .. you can’t say so.

Spicy gingerbread cookies

My father always took a camera with him whenever we were with him outside Delhi and at that time I am least interested in camera but he used to finish 3 to 4 rolls in a single trip and developed those  photos over there so before living that place we have a whole lot of photos in our hand to see in our returning trip.

Spicy gingerbread cookies

Now things have changed, I see the world in different way,  in a blogger way. I wish to bring that time again so that, I can capture that beautiful world in my way. .  Since I have started blogging we haven’t went anywhere.  I am really looking forward to go somewhere.

Anyway, till our visit to some place, let’s visit my kitchen where I recently made spicy gingerbread cookies. We all haven’t tasted   them anywhere  before, so when my niece inquires  me  whether it is a bread or cookie (because  as its name suggests,  it should be bread like)? to which even I don’t know the answer and I found later on Google that

ginger bread is  a spiced sweet bread. It can be in the form of a soft risen cake, a flat hard cookie, or an actual quick-bread. It can be darker or lighter. When made as a cookie, it is often cut into shapes.

So I got the answer and I hope she too.

Generally molasses(treacle)  is being used in gingerbread for that dark color but corn syrup, honey or sugar syrup can also work.  Molasses was not available here, so I used honey.

Spicy gingerbread cookies

These were really spicy, my son was shouting oooh  aaaah after eating this but he adhore its shapes. But I found that gingerbread cookies are less sugary, so my kind of cookies. Even my husband loved them.  Really want to try a store bought gingerbread so that I can be a better judge of my cookies. When I put them to bake and watching them puffing, just what I am expecting, I can’t tell how much happy I feel.

I have adapted the recipe of Smitten Kitchen. Normally people decorate gingerbread with royal icing but I was a bit lazy and they were a little time consuming so I skip that and used draggees instead.

spicy gingerbread cookies

Ingredients (I halved the recipe)

3 cups whole wheat flour
½  teaspoon baking soda
¼  teaspoon baking powder
2 teaspoons ground ginger
2 teaspoons ground cinnamon
¾  teaspoons ground cloves
½  teaspoon finely ground pepper
3/4 teaspoons coarse salt
100 gms butter
½  cup packed dark-brown sugar
1  eggs
½  cup unsulfured molasses (I used honey)

Dragees to decorate

Method

Mix all the dry ingredients except sugar by a spoon.  Beat sugar, egg and butter in a bowl  until pale in color.   Mix in honey.  Fold the dry ingredient into the wet ingredients. Make a dough by hand, divide the dough into 3 to 4 parts.   Roll the dough to a ¼ inch thick.  Cut into desired shapes. I press some dragees on the cookies before baking. There is no need to line the tray as they have enough butter in them, so they won’t stick.  These cookies won’t spread much. so keep them just 1 inch apart. Preheat the oven to 350 degrees c.    Bake cookies for 10 to 12 minutes or until done. Let cool on sheets on wire racks.

spicy gingerbread cookies

One thought on “Whole wheat Spicy Gingerbread Cookies…edible gifting ideas #9

  1. Pingback: Christmas Fruit cake…..Merry Christmas | Bakingflavours

Leave a Reply

