Candid Orange Peel in syrup and Butterscotch Sauce…edible gifting ideas for Christmas #9

Candid Orange Peel

You must be wondering why so simple recipes on a blog? You can say so for butterscotch but not for candid orange peel.  It took me 4 attempts to finally get a perfect recipe of candid orange peel.  Every time it came out as a disaster. When I earlier tried making orange peel, I boil, rinse and drain the orange peel for 3 times as it was mentioned but the end result  was a bitter peel.

Next time I followed another recipe in which it was mentioned that sometimes we have to boil for 4 times, I followed, but again the same result.  I tried to boil for even 5 times  but the bitter flavor of white pith  was not leaving.

Orange Peel

So one day while flipping the pages of “The Perfect Scoop”, which I recently received.  I found that we have to peel just the orange part not the white part, I found this technique excellent.  As expected I came out brilliant.  You can use this over your child’s ice-cream, parfaits, or any dessert.  I am saving this for my Christmas cake.  It was easy to make  as compared to dry one.

Candid Orange Peel in Syrup

In this you just have to let the peel boil for about 30 minutes before the sugar syrup process.  As you can compare my peel was not thinly sliced as him.  But I hope taste would be as good as him.

Butterscotch Sauce

And for butterscotch sauce,  the idea came, when my son who loves the store bought butterscotch milk and almost daily took, so one fine day I thought if vanilla milk can be made at home (another story) why can’t this one.  I googled and I found a very east butterscotch sauce recipe from again my favorite Smitten Kitchen site.   Now every day I just put two teaspoons in my son’s milk and voila butterscotch milk is ready.  This too can be drizzle over any cake, ice cream parfait or any other dessert.

So now you must be convinced, it was worthy sharing these two recipes with you.  Sometime some simple things can make your desserts stand out of lot.

Candid Orange Peel

Recipe adapted from The Perfect Scoop

Ingredients

  • 4 large Oranges
  • Water – 500ml or 2 cups
  • Sugar – 1 cup or 200g
  • Light corn syrup –  1 tbsp (I used liquid glucose)
  • Pinch of salt

Method                                                                                                                                                                  

Using your regular peeler, peel strips of orange ( be careful don’t peel the white part).  With the help of a knife cut the peel lengthwise into very thin strips (I couldn’t slice them very thin).

In a heavy bottom pan, add enough water to cover the peel.  Bring to a boil on high heat then reduce it to slow, cook for 15 minutes.  Remove from heat, strain the peel and rinse them with fresh water.

Combine the 2 cups water, sugar, liquid glucose and salt in the pan and bring to boil on high flame and let it boil for 3 minutes.  Add the blanched peel, reduce the heat to slow and let it boil for about 25 minutes.  Turn off the heat and let the peel cool in the syrup.  It can be refrigerated for up to 2 months.

Butterscotch Sauce

Recipe adapted from Smitten Kitchen

Ingredients

Makes – ¾ cup

  • Butter – 50 g
  • Brown Sugar  – ¼ cup
  • Heavy cream (I used amul cream) – ½ cup
  • Sea salt – ½ tsp
  • Vanilla essence- 1 1/2tsp

Method

In a heavy bottom pan melt, on a slow flame melt all the ingredients except vanilla essence for about 5 minutes, whisking occasionally.

Remove from heat and add vanilla essence and combine well. Let it cool on room temperature. Store in an airtight container and can be kept well in the fridge for about 2 weeks.

2 thoughts on “Candid Orange Peel in syrup and Butterscotch Sauce…edible gifting ideas for Christmas #9

  1. Pingback: Christmas Fruit cake…..Merry Christmas | Bakingflavours

  2. Pingback: Malta and Red Chilli Jam….using my precious gifts | Bakingflavours

Leave a Reply

