Eggless Marble Cake with ganache icing….for school christmas Party

marble cake

Yesterday was a very busy day. It was Sunday, so just centered around kitchen.  Later we all went for some grocery shopping and to buy a fern tree.  My son wanted to have a Christmas tree, so that he can decorate but I asked him to buy an original one, hopefully it will survive in our sunless house.  Then coming home at 4, prepared lunch, after that went for my favorite part – cake making.

Eggless Marble Cake

For his school party everybody has to bring some home cooked food.  He was asked to bring pasta. But on my insistence, which was later changed into cake.

I made this eggless cake for his school party.  He want to show off his mom’s skill and was very excited, so I decorate it too, but with minimal decorations and he was like jumping with joy after seeing this cake and  feel proud .

Eggless Marble Cake

But trust me working with chocolate, I didn’t like, first, because of the mess and secondly because half the bowl went into my drooling mouth.

In the end I was dead tired and could not take much photographs of this beautiful cake I thought I will get up early and click photos then but you know what happened I wake up so late that I did not have that much time to put strawberry decorations on it, and forget about clicking and my son was crying, fearing he won’t be able to go to school,  you know how kids are excited about school parties, but with my husband help we managed to pack my cake and pack my son too in winter clothes.

Merry Christmas to all the kids.  Enjoy.

Eggless Marble Cake

Recipe adapted from Passionate about Baking with few changes and I can claim I am her biggest fan.

Ingredients

  • Whole wheat flour – 3 cup
  • Yogurt – 2 cup
  • Sugar – 1 ½ cup (I used Bura)
  • Baking Soda – 1 tsp
  • Baking Powder – 2 ½ tsp
  • Oil – 1 cup
  • Cocoa – 2 tbsp
  • Vanilla essence – 1 tsp

Method

Grease and line a round 9” tin and preheat oven to 200 C .for 10 minutes. Grease a 6″ round tin, and line the bottom. Beat yogurt and sugar for 5 minutes then incorporate oil and again beat for 2 minutes.   Add vanilla essence. Sieve dry ingredients, except cocoa.   Fold flour in 4 lots, mixing well after each addition.  Divide the batter into 3 parts, in one part add the sifted cocoa and mix well. Now make the first layer on the bottom of the tin with vanilla batter spread well with spatula, make the second layer with cocoa batter, again spread well on all the corners, now the final layer with vanilla batter. Bake at 200C for 10 minutes, reduce temperature to 175C and bake for 40-45 minutes or till a toothpick inserted into the cake comes out clean.

I iced this cake with  ganache.

Ganache

Ingredients

  • Dark Chocolate – 250 gm
  • Single Cream – 150 ml

Method

In a pan, on medium heat melt cream on slow flame when the bubbles starts to appear, add chocolate into it, mixing it a little. Cover it with a plate and after every now and then stir the ganache until all the chocolate melts.  Keep this mixture in the freeze for about 1 hour.  Fill this in a piping bag and make design of your own choice.

 Eggless Marble Cake

4 thoughts on “Eggless Marble Cake with ganache icing….for school christmas Party

Leave a Reply

