Christmas Fruit cake…..Merry Christmas

Christmas Cake

Merry Christmas to all of you!!

Christmas cake is the most awaited cake of the year.  I believe once you start feeling a nib in the air, the infectious cheerful feeling of Christmas bind you, and you start making plan for Christmas and if you are a baker what could be a better time than this.  Christmas spirit can be seen everywhere, each and every shop has  its own story to tell through their decorations and I too have one.

Christmas Cake

I woke up late, knowing that today is holiday and no washing has to be done.  I had plan of making the cake in afternoon, when I am totally free because I don’t want anybody calling my name for breakfast or for whatever when I am preparing this cake.

christmas cake preparations

When I was preparing the batter it came out very tight, so I added ¼ cup of milk into it but it still seems thick to me.  But I let that as it is and pour this in my tin. .  There was a child like fascination of baking this cake and while it was in the oven I feel like opening it up again and again.

Christmas Fruit Cake

I must have searched lots ‘n’ lots of recipes before finalizing my this one and to my surprise it came out as a charmer I am happy I have selected this one..  Everybody was appreciating me and I feel like on cloud nine.

Fondant decoration

I have  soaked my fruits in real orange juice a week before, but as I saw on facebook  that fruits were being soaked months before and they held a big ceremony for mixing fruit in alcohol.  I too wanted to soak my fruits a little before but was not sure whether they  will stay good in fresh juice for that long.  So I thought a week before is  a good idea.

Christmas cake

Last year, I soaked my fruits in rum  and made them as muffins so that they baked quickly because as a newbie in baking, it is hard to digest baking a cake for 2 hour but nobody liked them and my soooooo…..costly dry fruits went wasted.  I can say, this is the first time I am making a Christmas fruit cake.

christmas decoration

We have celebrated this festival long time ago when my son was 3 or 4 years old and that too to introduce him to our major festivals, after that or before that, every year on this day we just have fun and nothing special we do on this day.  But now, this year he wants to celebrate this festival and told me that from now onwards we will celebrate each and every festival.   I feel happy to hear that.  What better way to understand a religion, a festival than to celebrate itself.

Christmas Fruit Cake

This year we bought a fern plant and decorate it too.  Later on my hubby’s suggestion we put some lights.  My son was so excited to decorate the Christmas tree all by himself; he made a beautiful wreath also and see how he decorated it.

wreath

This December I have introduced a series of edible gifting ideas like  bestever granola, gingerbread cookies, candid orange peel in syrup, butterscotch sauce, peanut and hazelnut bar, zucchini muffinschilly jam, pumpkin crackers with roasted bell pepper chilly sauce, Ricotta cheese cake

christmas gifts ideas

I have adapted the recipe of Taste with some changes.

Ingredients

  • Dry fruits – 750 g (included dates, prunes, cranberry, candid orange peel, almonds, walnuts, raisins, apricots)
  • Orange Marmalade – 1 tbsp
  • Spice powder- ½ tsp (I made by mixing nutmeg, cinnamon and clove)
  • Ginger Powder – ½ tsp
  • Eggs – 2
  • Whole wheat flour – 1 cup
  • Baking powder – ½ tsp
  • Brown sugar – ½ cup(2tbsp less)
  • Water –  cup
  • Milk – ¼ cup
  • Orange juice  of 2 oranges
  • Orange rind of 1 orange
  • Butter – 125 g

Method

In a mixing bowl mix  dry fruits, rind of orange  and orange juice.  Toss them nicely and cover them with a cling film.  Put that bowl in the fridge for 1 week before using them.  Regularly toss them with a spoon and cover it again.

Preheat the oven at 150 degree c. Double line a 8” tin from the bottom and from the sides.  I also covered the tin from down and from sides with a foil from outside to prevent it from burning.

Sift flour and baking powder in a bowl, mix spices and toss the soaked dry fruits in the flour mixture.   In a pan make caramel with half of sugar and water.  Beat eggs with the remaining sugar, add caramel  and milk.  Now finally fold the dry ingredients into the wet.   Bake for about 1 hour

Christmas cake

Leave a Reply

