Sticky Date Pudding in Orange Juice with Chocolate Syrup….happy happy time

sticky date Pudding

Warn you, it will be a long post and pardon me for the poor quality of the images, as they were taken from my mobile phone.

I came back from my mom’s place with sweet memories and thoughtful gifts.

Everytime I visit my mom’s place, it seems to me that I am in a fairyland,  where each and every demand  is fulfilled in a heartwarming way.

My days spent their chatting, watching the kid’s play; listening to their nonstop funniest talks and when everybody went for some work I enjoy looking at the trees and plants which we,  my father and I planted, when we shifted in this house 15 -20 years back. Meeting your parents always revived the good old memories.  Their hug still, makes you feel like a child their blessed hands makes you the most luckiest person in universe.  I just wish and pray for every parent’s good health and happiness and may we all surrounded by their love.

leisure time

No preparations for breakfast, lunch and dinner and no at the last moment rushing to buy something. I think I have said enough to make you feel jealous. Don’t be jealous take a trip to your mom’s place, you too can have that kind of fun and love..

Sticky Date Pudding

Like a typical Gupta family, we start our day by gorging paranthas, which my mom used to serve me with extra dollop of butter and you just can’t stop her.  Later in the afternoon my  bhabhi  cooks some of the tastiest dishes, which were super duper hit amongst all of  us like chole bhature, pav bhajjhi, jackfruit etc. I know you all will be drooling.   Last dish of the day used to be   cooked by papa or my mom and we all know parent’s food can’t be compared or described, it has to be the best in the world. Errr… how can I forgot children’s favorite mamu!!  Yes, after meeting him, kids considered him the best person in the world and no, not because he buys them gift but because he gives the children real time, what they longed for!!  So spending some time with him,   he can take over everybody’s place. Every day they take fun ride with mamu which always ended with gifts and food from outside – pizza burger.

Fun ride with mamu

How can I come back without showing my love for them and I have only one means of showing it, through my bakes.  I baked three cakes there and knowing about their changed eating habits I too baked all healthy cakes – Zucchini Cake, Sticky Date Pudding and Carrot Cake.  They  loved  all of them. But, when I asked about their favorite?  Everybody says in unison sticky Date pudding, so I am sharing the recipe with you.

sticky Dates Treat

cake treat

This was not the first time I made a date pudding, in fact it was the third time and all with different recipes.  Check out my last date pudding with walnuts here, I made that pudding earlier also, but at that time I was not introduced to my love, my blog, but still you can see the picture.

Wholewheat date and walnut cake

Sticky Date Pudding

Recipe adapted from Sanjeev Kapoor’s show Cook Smart on Foodfood Channel

Ingredients

  • Fresh Orange Juice – 2 cups
  • Dates , deseeded and chopped – 1 cup
  • Wholewheat flour – 1 cup
  • Butter – 90 gms
  • Baking soda – ½ tsp
  • Vanilla essence – ½ tsp
  • Eggs – 2
  • Brown sugar – 1/4 cup

Method

Preheat the oven at 180 degree C.

In a pan over medium heat boil orange juice(freshly squeezed) add chopped dates into them and let it boil for 1 minute.  Switch off  the gas.  Add baking soda. Let it cool in the room temperature.

In another bowl beat  butter and sugar, when  pale in colour and eggs one by one beat after each addition.

Fold flour and finally add vanilla essence.

In a greased tin pour the mixture and  in double boiler means you have to take some water in a tray and put that tin in the tray and cover the tin with some foil and bake for 1 to 1 ½ hour.

Enjoy warm cut out slices.

Chocolate Syrup

  • Sugar – 1/4 cup
  • Water – 1/4 cup
  • Cocoa Powder – 1 tbsp.

Method

In a pan add all the things and boil for 4 minutes and continue to whisk while cooking.  Pour this hot syrup immediately (otherwise it will get harden after it cools down) over any cake or pudding when the cake is still warm.

sticky date Pudding2

Leave a Reply

