Eggless Chocolate Cake with ganache icing….on urgent call

Eggless chocolate cake

There is something therapeutic, working with chocolate……Heston

There is one drawback of winters; in winters you can’t get up during midnight or early morning to do something you love, in summers, things were easier.    I used to make a rough draft on computers, when my son slept but now getting out from the warmness of quilt to pick my laptop seems difficult and if somehow I  do that,  I  need a cup of tea or coffee to rejuvenate my  mood, now the big question is who is going to make that?  So this post I made during the day, amidst my all other works.

Excuse me, I don’t need anything to uplift my mood to make a cake.

Eggless chocolate cake

This was one of the cakes which I made during Christmas for my brother-in-law on his birthday.  It was made in a jiffy with no preplanning.  I was asked to make this cake in just a small gap of 2 hours.   So I didn’t ice it very elaborately just rosettes and some sprinkles.

This sponge is in my repertoire for very long and was the first recipe which I tried on my newly bought microwave convection 2 years back.  Every time when there is an urgent order of a cake I follow this recipe.  It is truly tested, approved and loved by everyone.  This recipe is in the free recipe book which I got with my microwave. At that time, I was not aware of the recipes on the net and TV. (so ignorant I am!!!!).   So that book, at that time  was like a treasure for me, I still keep all my baking books  like carefully.  This recipe is so simple; you just have to add all and just give it a quick blitz in the mixer or with a hand blender.

Eggless Chocolate Cake

Recipe adapted from  Whirlpool Magicook recipe book

 Ingredients

  • Whole wheat Flour – 1 ¾ cup
  • Oil – 1 cup
  • Sugar – ¾ cup
  • Thick curd – 1 cup
  • Coco Powder – 2 tbsp
  • Baking Soda – 1 tsp
  • Milk – 5 tbsp

Method

Take all the ingredients and mix them well with the electric beater.

Preheat the oven at 180 degree C and pour the batter in a  greased 7”baking tin and keep it in oven for 40 – 50 minutes or till the time when inserted knife comes out completely clean.

Ganache(Please check note)

  • Amul Cream – 150 ml
  • Dark Chocolate – 200 g

Method

In a pan, heat cream on slow flame until bubbles starts to appear, add chopped chocolate into it  and switch off the gas .  Coat the chocolate with the cream.  Cover it with some plate.  After some time, when with the heatness of cream the entire chocolate melts whisk is properly, so that it forms a shiny and uniform sauce.  Keep this mixture in freeze for 1 hour.  Freezing makes it thick, now pipe the mixture in a piping bag with a star nozzle and make rosettes all over the cake.

Please note: I also drizzle some chocolate sauce (I added some drops of milk into the ganache , to make it drizzle smoothly all over the cake) then I keep this cake in freeze for ½  an hour. After freezing,  I made rosettes all over.

3 thoughts on “Eggless Chocolate Cake with ganache icing….on urgent call

  1. Pingback: Chocolate Strawberry cake…..on Abhinav’s birthday, my biggest cake ever | Bakingflavours

Leave a Reply

