Pumpkin Pie

Pumpkin Pie

I think everybody does some cheating by taking “their” time out of everyday and I have seen the no matter whether you are a small, grown up, rich or poor every day, everyone do that.  Some are lucky to get more and some less.  When I sat down to figure out when today, I do that?  I did when I planted two more plants in my balcony garden and of course other than posting this post.

spices

As soon as the winter starts, desire to have spices in your desserts increases and when they are over, you don’t want to look at them, this is because they bring warmness in your body. So as soon as the winter starts, I used these spices in my, almost every dessert and Pumpkin Pie is one of them.

Pumpkin Puree

This was again my long pending post, I made when the winter starts, but my other plans doesn’t let me post that one and one more important reason of delaying this post that my pastry was over baked and there were burnt signs (that can be seen in these pictures also). But before winter say goodbye to us, I don’t want you to deprive of this wonderful dessert.

Pumpkin Pie

Don’t you think it is amazing that past one year all these desserts were unheard of, and now I am baking them and enjoying them?

This is the “fun in exploring “not just food, everything!!!

The texture of this pie is wobbly, my son rejected it on the very first bite but all of us loved it.

Pumpkin Pie

Recipe adapted from Jamie Oliver (I halved the recipe)

Ingredients

  • 500 g  pie dough
  • 600 gm pumpkin puree (recipe here)
  • ¼ teaspoon ground nutmeg
  • ¼ teaspoon ground ginger
  • ¼ teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 4 tablespoons Honey
  • 4 tablespoons caster sugar
  • 3 eggs, beaten
  • 200 ml double cream
  • Sliced almonds to sprinkle
  • Vanilla Essence – 1 tsp

Method

For the pie crust, see the recipe  and instructions here.

Steps of pumpkin pie
Preheat the oven to 200ºC.  Grease your loose bottomed tart tin with oil. Roll the pastry on a dusted surface.   You must   cover the rolled pie crusts with a napkin so that they don’t dry out. Place  the pastry gently on a greased pan and press it towards the bottom and the edges. Bake blind for 20 minutes.

Mix the pumpkin puree, all the spices, honey, eggs, sugar, vanilla essence and  cream and pour this mixture on the baked and cooled pie crust, sprinkle sliced almonds over it  and bake for 45 minutes.
Remove the tart from the oven. Serve it warm.

Do check my Pumpkin soup too.

pumpkin and mixed vegetable soup

Leave a Reply

