Pea Soup….warm comfort

Pea Soup

With this sudden rain and that too in winter I know you all crave for something hot, but other than tea and coffee, with lots of flavor.   What about pea soup?

As we all know pea has a distinctive sweet flavor.   We normally pair pea with some other vegetable to balance the sweet flavor, as least I do.

Peas

But I do not like anything sweet in my savory dish, I have seen people adds khoya, raisins or some even add sugar like gujratis to add a sweet flavor.  They seems to like that way.

Basil Plant

Numerous beautiful pictures of pea soups can be seen on blogosphere, but I never got tempted, though those who know me through my posts might be aware that how much I love soups.  But  I can’t imagine  myself sipping a sweet soup.  But while watching Nigella show, I saw that she added pesto in her pea soup and that what strikes me most, a balance of flavor.  But  pesto requires basil leaves and pine nuts, which  was again a task.  Of course I have a basil plant in my small balcony garden, but it is very small and  you may laugh reading this but I don’t want to pluck any leaves from my this plant because there is a beautiful story attached to it.

Pea Soup

It was gifted to me, by my keraliite  friend,  she used to tell me lots about  plants she has in her ancesteral home in Kerala.  So once I asked her about basil plant, which she was not aware of.  When I told her about how it looks and the very next day she brought a small plant for me.   You know, our friendship  is not very old,  I just met her her twice or thrice, even then she took trouble. Don’t you think I am so lucky to have such  a sweet friend.  Now, you know why it is my favorite.

Coriander and amla Chutney

Back to our business uhhhh….. my soup,  I decided to add  Indian pesto or chutney instead, that was lying in the fridge. And as expected, chutney added the kick to the soup and perfectly balance the sweet flavor.  So now, one more soup for winters under my belt.

Pea Soup

Recipe adapted from Nigella Express with some changes.

Serves 2

Ingredients

  • 375 grams frozen peas
  • 2 spring onions (trimmed but whole)
  • 1 teaspoon salt (or ½ teaspoon table salt)
  • ½ teaspoon lime juice
  • 4 tablespoons gooseberry and coriander chutney (recipe      follows)
  • 4 cups water

Method

  1. Boil the peas and chopped spring onions with  1 cup of water in a Cooker by giving  two whistle.
  2. Allow to come at room temperature then grind them.
  3. In a pan pour the remaining 3 cups of water and add pea      mixture.
  4. Add salt and chutney.
  5. Bring it to a boil. Let it simmer for 1 minute.
  6. Finally add lemon juice and serve hot.

Gooseberry and coriander chutney

Ingredients

  • 1 bunch coriander – washed and cut
  • 4 Garlic Cloves
  • ½ inch ginger piece
  • 1 diced tomato
  • 1 diced onion
  • 5 gooseberry (amla), chopped
  • ½ cup of water
  • Salt and pepper to taste
  • Green Chilly (optional)

Method

In a grinder  put all the above ingredients and give them a quick blitz. Ready to serve.

Leave a Reply

