Chocolate Roll….reading time

Chocolate Roll1

Last week,  Virat and I  visited a book store to buy some books for him.  He has been limited to buy only one book in a month, but he always end up buying a lot.  Evert time,  I left him alone to let him take his own time,  to select book  but this time I stayed with him  and  start checking some books for him.  I really found some books so inspirational and which I, too wanted to read with him. But he was persistent that he will buy his kind of detective books or humorous books. On my insistence he bought them and on weekend we both sat together to read our books. He really enjoyed those books and I too.

choclote Roll

It’s been long time that I read any book, may be after 11 years, before marriage I had a huge collection of books.  I can say I had an obsession of buying and reading books but the real reason for buying books was to improve my English.  I only knew how much problem I faced (because of my weak English) during my job in multinational companies. So in order to improve my English I started  started reading till late night after coming from my work at 8 or 8.30.  But after my marriage I stopped reading altogether and give away all my books to somebody.  My son still complains and asks, “Why you gave your books to somebody, today I will have more books to read?”

IMG_4831

But my, new found obsession will surely help me to continue my earlier passion.

When I saw pictures of pumpkin roll  yes, it was actually a pumpkin roll recipe which I changed to chocolate roll by replacing pumpkin puree with chocolate and spices with cocoa, I knew it has to be made  very soon.    I must admit it was not rolled so perfectly  like in  Jamie’s post, because I adapted my earlier method of rolling which I used in rolling my Swiss roll.  May be,  here Jamie’s method will work more perfectly, so I am giving you her way of rolling, if you want to do my way, check here.

May be, I  didn’t  able to roll nicely but taste wise,  it was a hit.

I tried her original recipe of pumpkin roll too, that too turned out super duper delicious but failed to roll perfectly because I again followed  my earlier method of rolling.  Next time I will definitely try her method of rolling.

Pumpkin Roll

Recipe adapted from my baking addiction with some changes
Ingredients:

For the Cake

  • 1/4 cup powdered sugar (to sprinkle on towel)
  • 3/4 cup whole wheat  flour
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 tablespoon cocoa
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 3 eggs
  • 1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract
  • 1 cup granulated sugar
  • 2/3 cup melted chocolate

For the Filling/ganache

  • 100 gm dark chocolate
  • 50 gm single cream
  • 1 tbsp orange juice

Method for cake roll

1. Preheat oven to 375 degrees F. Line a 15 x 10-inch jelly-roll pan with butter paper.  Sprinkle a clean tea towel with powdered sugar. Set pan and towel aside.

2. In a bowl, sift flour, baking powder, baking soda, cocoa powder and salt. In another bowl   beat eggs, vanilla and sugar until thick. Add in melted chocolate.  Fold the flour mixture into the egg mixture. Spread batter evenly into prepared pan.

3. Bake for 13 to 15 minutes or until top of cake springs back when touched. Immediately loosen and turn cake onto prepared towel. Carefully peel off paper. Roll up cake and towel together, starting with narrow end. Cool on wire rack. Carefully unroll cake; remove towel. Spread ganache over cake. Reroll cake. Wrap in plastic wrap and refrigerate at least one hour.

Method for filling

In a pan, heat cream, chopped chocolate and juice on slow flame. As soon as the bubbles start to appear on sides switch off the gas and whisk until its combines and smooth.   Let it cool down at room temperature.

Leave a Reply

