Pepper Rasam…curing cold

Pepper Rasam

I was so desperate to share this wonderful recipe, that immediately  after sending my son  to school,  I quietly  took my laptop, so that nobody wakes up till I finish drafting my this post.  I ignored my pile of dirty clothes and lunch that  has to be pack for my husband. But please don’t  feel pity on him. Later  I managed all.  Don’t you know, women are known for multitasking?

Spices
And this wonderful recipe’s name is Pepper Rasam, so tasty and give warmness to your body too. It helps in curing cold and clearing congestion. Whenever crave for something hot ‘n’ spicy. Just add some teaspoons into a pan with some water and get ready to fight cold.
Pepper Rasam
I became fan of this recipe that I have to have this drink everyday and whenever some guests arrives, my first question with them would always be, ” Would you like some Pepper Rasam?”  Whosoever tasted this recipe, can’t stop praising it and asks me for it’s recipe.
Pepper Rasam
But when I give this to my son, he found it very spicy, as expected. If your children can tolerate some spices than you must prepare this eeasy peesy rasam powder in winter. It will definitely help in fighting cold.
Pepper Rasam
I came to know about this wonderful site while surfing some traditional dishes. I am really floored by her photography and now by her recipes too.
Recipe adapted from Turmeric ‘n’ Spice
Ingredients for Pepper Rasam

  • 1 tbsp ghee,
  • 1/4 tsp crushed black pepper (or more)
  • 1/2 tsp mustard seed
  • 1/2 tsp cumin seed
  • 1/4 tsp asafetida
  • 2-3 tbsp tamarind pulp (soak the tamarind in warm water and remove pulp, NOT store bought
  • small piece of jaggery ( 1/2 lemon size)
  • 2 tbsp rasam powder (recipe follows)
  • salt to taste
  • 4-5 cups water

Method
In a sauce pan heat ghee, add mustard, cumin and let it splatter, add black pepper and asafetida. Add 5 cups water, tamarind pulp, jaggery, rasam powder, salt and boil for 8-10 min. Wait for the spices to settle to the bottom.
Rasam Powder
Recipe of Rasam Powder too adapted from Turmeric ‘n’ Spice
Ingredients of Rasam Powder
• Pepper: 1 cup
• Jeera : 1 cup
• Methi (seed): 1 cup
• Mustard (seed): 1/4th cup
• Cinnamon: 8-10 sticks
• Coriander (seed): 4 cups
• Curry leaves: 2 stalks ( remove leaves from stalk)
• Red Chili powder : 1/3 cup

Method

Dry roast all the ingredients separately till golden brown and till the mustard and black pepper pop. Add chili powder, do not heat the chili powder just add them to the rest, the warmth from those ingredients is enough to bring out its flavor.
Let it cool, grind the above ingredients in a blende. Store in a dry, air tight container. Rasam powder has a long shelf life. It ages with time.

Leave a Reply

