Apple and Strawberry Tart….on Valentine

Strawberry and Apple Tart

      “Don’t save something for a special occasion.  Every day of your life is a special occasion.”

Thomas S. Monson

strawberry and Apple tart

When we got married I was unaware of his habits, as ours was an arranged marriage and we barely talked before marriage. So whenever any birthdays or anniversary came, as expected, I used to wait till 12 o clock for some gift.   But later I got the clue that he is not going to surprise me with any gift, so I started asking him for gifts.  It is not that he doesn’t remember any such dates but he doesn’t like the idea of gifting.  I believe all husband are not like that.  According to him you can buy or take anything on any day, and now I am tired of teaching him that it is important.

strawberry

But now things have changed now we (read I and my son) did not let him go without fulfilling our demands.  Every time after much persuasion, he has to agree to our demands.

Am I sounds Greedy?

strawberry and apple tart

Actually I find it good and wish to celebrate more such days.  I believe we should not leave any chance to celebrate.

But you know in our 11 years of marriage he did bring me a flower on valentine.  But that was the first and last time. After that his answer is always is “What is Valentine Day”.

strawberry and apple tart

I too made this strawberry and apple tart to make this day more special.  I have used my earlier recipe of galette but this time, as now wholesome is added to my tag, I made it more wholesome by replacing as usual plain flour with multigrain flour and in filling too  I replaced corn starch with oats and it tasted wonderful.  We all loved it.

strawberry and apple tart

But in the end I would like to add that with each passing day,  our relationship is getting more stronger and meaningful, touchwood.  I believe that is what love is all about.  I pray and hope the same love and care for all of you.

Ingredients (I halved the recipe)

Ingredients:

Pastry:

  • 3 tbsp Hung curd
  • 1 cup multi grain flour
  • 1/3 cup Ice water
  • 1/4 cup cornmeal
  • 1 tsp – sugar
  • 110 gm – Chilled butter

filling:

  • 1 cup – strawberry,
  • chopped 1 cup – apple, chopped
  • 2 tbsp- sugar + 2 tsp
  • Sugar for sprinkling 2 tbsp honey
  •  4 tbsp. – oats
  • 2 tbsp – jam milk for brushing the pastry

For garnish  pipe some whipped cream and choco chips

Method:

Preheat the oven at 200 degree C. Mix all the dry ingredients, add chilled butter and cold water add more flour if it is sticky to your hand. In a cling film wrap the dough divided into two discs and refrigerate it for 2 – 3 hours.

Mix all the filling ingredients except jam only when the dough is cooled down in freeze. Oil two tart tin and  roll the pastry about 1/8 inch thick. Spread 1 tbsp of jam in the centre. Spread half of the filling over the jam and sprinkle the sugar on the top. Put this in the oven for 25 – 30 minutes until the pastry became  golden brown.

Leave a Reply

