Prunes and Sesame Cookies

???????????????????????????????

As soon as the March  approaches  the fever of exams starts and children were seen less in parks, all busy preparing  for their final exams.  How can my home be  free of this fever.   As a kid I was an escapist of studies  and my  son is like me and his span of attention is also very low but thankfully  he studies very carefully and thoroughly unlike me.

Like me, he too makes lots of excuses to escape from studies but aware of all such formulas I did not let him make fool of myself.   During his exams time he loves munching in between, reasons as I told you.  I keep them ready in his room so that he didn’t get the chance to escape somewhere.  I will share more of his favorite cookies in the coming month.

Prunes and Sesame Cookies

Recipe minimally adapted from Passionate about Baking

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup whole wheat flour
  • 1/2 cup oats flour
  • 1/2 cup almond meal
  • 3/4 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 cup butter
  • 1/2 cup brown sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 1/2 cup Chopped prunes
  • sesame seeds – 2 tbsp. for sprinkling

Method:

Preheat oven to 180C.In a bowl beat butter and sugar till fluffy add in egg.Mix vanilla essence.   In another bowl  sift whole-wheat flour, baking soda and salt.Mix almond meal and oats flour in whole wheat mixture by a wooden spoon, finally drop chopped prunes and knead a dough.Keep this mixture in freeze to set in a cling film.  On a flour dusted surface roll the dough and cut into desired shapes.  Sprinkle some sesame seeds over them and press them a little.  Bake this, for around 20 minutes.

Prune and Sesame Cookies

Leave a Reply

