Soda Bread

soda bread

I made this bread very long time ago and it was my first attempt of making any bread too. I started with an easy bread which doesn’t require yeast. I still remember I was jumping with joy after seeing the end result.  Baking a bread always gives me immense pleasure or I can say divine experience, bake it to believe it.

At that time as  I was new to baking and can’t even think of replacing something (which now I do in almost every recipe), I just followed the recipe completely.

Also, please bear with me as I have just one or two photos of my old stuff.

Traditionally Soda Bread is made using other leavening agent baking soda instead of yeast that’s why it’s being called Soda Bread.  So trying my hand on an easy bread is a comfortable choice.  After that I tried many bread using yeast (recipes as usual, yet to be posted). Racheal Allen is again one of my favourite Chef.   I have tried almost each recipe of hers from her series Bake.

Recipe adapted from  Rachael Allen, Bake on TLC

Ingredients

  • 400 g plain flour
  • 1 tsp caster sugar
  • 1 tsp  soda
  • 1 tsp  salt
  • 350 ml      buttermilk

Method

Preheat the oven to 230 degree C.

Sift the dry ingredients into a large bowl and make a well in the centre. Pour in most of the buttermilk (leaving about 60ml in the measuring jug). Using one hand with your fingers outstretched like a claw, bring the flour and liquid together, adding more buttermilk if necessary. Do not knead the mixture or it will become heavy. The dough should be soft but not too wet and sticky.

When the dough comes together, turn onto a floured work surface and bring together a little more. Pat the dough into a roundabout 4cm deep and cut a deep cross in the top (I forgot to do that).

Place the dough onto a baking tray and bake in the oven for 15 minutes, then turn down the heat to 200 degree C and bake for a further 30 minutes. When ready, the loaf will sound slightly hollow when tapped on the base and be golden in color.

Leave a Reply

