Strawberry Jam

strawberry Jam

We don’t have any library nearby, so one day my son’s friend told him about a place from where he can take story books on rent, so just to check, we gave a visit to that place.  Whether, we got some books or not was a different story but what I observed there, a beautifully cut piece of log, which  owned by a shopkeeper.  It was in my wish list for very long and I want to own that piece.  My son felt so  shy or better say embarrassed  when I approached that shopkeeper to enquire about that log.  To my disappointment, he declined to sell that though I offered him double the price. But he did told me about the place from where I can get these kind of stuff.

strawberry

I didn’t get that log but I can make best use of what I have – strawberries.  Again a jam, made out of strawberries.

strawberry Jam

I had a special weakness for jams, it’s not that I love having them  but making them give me immense pleasure, the color they leave after some heating  and the fragrance they releases once it started to cook is amazing.  I really want to experiment with this beautiful fruit too.

strawberry jam

Whenever I came across any jam recipe I always put that in my priority list.  Earlier I didn’t make much jams because most of the recipes calls for pectin which I could not find over here,  so last year I took the risk and  tried some jams  without pectin and they keep well till today.  I am now damn confident in making them, I love to try more.  Now even I can adjust the sugar and other ingredients myself.

strawberry jam

Ingredients

  • Strawberries, chopped after their green part removed  – 250 gm
  • Sugar – 125 gm
  • Lemon juice – 2 tbsp

Method

In a heavy bottom pan on slow flame put strawberries, sugar and lemon.  Let it simmer till it thickens or you can do the plate taste after 10 – 15 minutes, for that keep one steel plate in freezer and after some time take that plate out and spoon one teaspoon of jam on it, chill it in the freezer for about 30 seconds. If the test jam is firm to the touch and has the texture you want for your batch of jam, then it
is done.

strawberry Jam

One thought on “Strawberry Jam

  1. Pingback: Homemade Cheese…..Ricotta, Mascarpone and Quark and Mascorpone Cheese Trifle | Bakingflavours

Leave a Reply

