Homemade Cheese…..Ricotta, Mascarpone and Quark and Mascorpone Cheese Trifle

Cheese Trifle

Finally my son’s exams were over, he can now play with friends or do cycling, as much as he wants and I too can relax.    I remember when we were kids, our agenda after our exams, was to watch numerous movies.  We all together watch one after the another non-stop movies on a rented VCD with lots of cups of coffee, maggies and popcorns. Sometimes, we were at our cousins place, sometimes they were at our home.  Now I rarely watch TV.  I find solace in my baking and writing.

Idea or better say necessity of making cheese came when I found a  litre of low fat cream lying in my freeze which I neglected for long.  I bought that in order to make mascarpone but I keep on postponing it for another day but  when I check the date, it was about to expire very soon, I put that  on my kitchen counter so that I was left with no more excuses.

masacarpone cheese

I must admit making mascarpone was easy but it does take time and it was worth making that delicious and creamy mascarpone, It was my first ever experience of tasting  it too.

Mascarpone Cheese

Quark too I have experienced making it long time ago.  It was a little sour in taste and I found    it  the best substitute of cream cheese.

quark

Ricotta too, I have tried during my daring baker’s challenge and I have  made cake and a savory tart (recipe yet to be posted) with it.

Ricotta Cheese

Ricotta Cheese

savory ricotta tart

I have discovered more home made cheese which I will try very soon and update this post..

Compiling these cheeses in one post was the idea I adapted from Deepa of Passionate about Baking

Mascarpone
Recipe adapted from passionate about baking

 Ingredients

• 1 litre cream (I used 25% low fat cream;you can use 36% whipping cream)
• 2 tbsp fresh lime/lemon juice ( juice of 1 ½ limes approx)

 Method

Heat the cream over a water bath/double boiler until it reaches 180ºF/82ºC
Stir in the lime/lemon juice and keep at this temperature for a few moments longer until it starts to thicken.
Remove from heat, cover, and let sit at room temperature until it is cooled down a bit.
Refrigerate overnight. The next day it will have thickened further.
Pour it in a strainer lined with multiple layers of cheesecloth or clean towel. Refrigerate for about 24 hours to let the whey drain.
Quark
Recipe adapted from Passionate about Baking

 Ingredients

• 1/2 cup cultured buttermilk
• 3 1/2 cups full cream milk

Method

If your milk is not pasteurized you should bring it to the boil, then allow it to cool to room temperature (covered with a lid).
Stir the buttermilk into the milk in a container you can cover.
Put the container in a warm place. Allow the culture to proceed for 24 hours, or until the curds and whey separate. At first the milk will look grainy, and eventually the curds will float on the whey. The grainy stage is probably sufficient, but might give a lower yield.
Dampen a clean tea towel and use it to line a sieve. Place the sieve over a basin. Pour the curds and whey into the strainer. Bring the tea towel together so that it covers your quark and do it up with a rubber band. Place the entire draining apparatus in the fridge. Allow to drain in the fridge overnight, or for 24 hours. The drained quark should have a consistency similar to sour cream, but it has a more sour taste.

Fresh Ricotta Cheese (makes 1 cup)

Recipe adapted from Crumbs of love

Ingredients

• 4 Cups/2 litre – Whole Milk
• 1 Cup /250 ml) single cream
• 1/2 tsp salt
• 3 Tablespoons fresh lemon juice

 Method

Line a large  strainer with 2 layers of cheesecloth that has been lightly dampened over a large glass; set aside.
Pour the whole milk, cream and salt into a large pot and bring to a boil over medium heat, whisking occasionally. Reduce the heat, add the fresh lemon juice and stir/whisk continuously for 2-3 minutes. The mixture will curdle, which is exactly what it is supposed to do.
Pour this into the cheesecloth lined strainer and let it drain for about 1 hour or until it comes to room temperature. At this point you can scrape the ricotta from the cheesecloth into a container and refrigerate for up to 2 days.
cheese trifle

Mascarpone Cheese Trifle

Ingredients

Serves 3 small shots glasses

  • Mascarpone cheese, lightly whisked – 6 tbsp.
  • Strawberry jam – 6 tbsp.
  • strawberry cut into small pieces 5 – 6
  • Muesli – 6 tbsp

Method

Make a layer of muesli on each glass, then spoon some jam and over jam spoon mascarpone, top with some cut strawberry. Do this layering until the glass fills.  Enjoy this cool.

Leave a Reply

