Cookies filled with molten chocolate

mellted chocolate cookies

I know I am a bit late  about my last weekend story, which was beautiful and a relieved one after so many days of staying home, we managed to go outside on Saturday as well as on Sunday and on both days we took lunch outside and enjoyed ice cream too, yes, what better way to welcome summers.  So  a great relief  from routine work. It’s not that I don’t enjoy cooking for my family but a change is something we all look forward to.

I always enjoyed being driven by my husband because at that time I can fully enjoy, sitting at the back seat of our car and let him handle and answer my son’s so many questions.  I love watching quietly, blossom of flowers, beautiful trees, observing people, shops and lots of other things.

Though this weekend, our outing has a purpose, as we need to buy a book almirah for my son.  After my repeated request, he declined to give me a single rack in his almirah, which I required to keep my ever increasing baking books.  One more thing which I  managed to buy, punnets of strawberries.

strawberry punnets

I don’t know why I got tempted again and again whenever I found strawberries in market though I have already stocked so much,  but still I can’t resist whenever I found them.  I filled lots more bottles of jams  for gifting purpose.

strawberry jam

This recipe was again from my backlog, made long time ago. No need to say that they came out very chocolaty.  Kids just loved them and they polished off at the same time as they came out of oven, molten chocolate makes it more favorite amongst the kids.  My husband keeps a distance of these cookies as he don’t like chocolate as much as we all do.

Makes 20 cookies

Recipe adapted from Purple Foodie

Ingredients

  •  75g butter
  • 75g sugar
  • 1 tsp vanilla essence
  • 1 egg yolk
  • 120g  whole wheat flour
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tbsp cocoa powder
  • 1 tbsp milk
  •  finally chopped chocolate for filling

Method

Preheat the oven to 170 degree C. In a bowl, beat the butter and sugar together until pale and creamy. Add the vanilla essence, egg yolk and continue to beat until light ad fluffy. In another bowl sift together the flour, baking powder and cocoa before folding into the butter mixture. Add a tablespoon or so of water.  Wrap the dough in cling film and let it rest in the refrigerator for 30 minutes. Make small balls and place the chopped chocolate and gather together the sides to enclose the chocolate. Place them on the baking tray and bake for 9-11 minutes.

2 thoughts on “Cookies filled with molten chocolate

Leave a Reply

