Brownie in a bowl

Brownie in a bowl

Wishing you all, a very happy Holi.

As promised, of something, challenging recipe but came out with another easy one.   Brownies with kumquat preserve.

IMG_9150

Yesterday,  my sister and his son visited our home and when they entered, Abhi started sniffing and looking here and there because this time he could not smell a familiar aroma of chocolate.

This is a ritual or my way to welcome kids but this time I avoided because he had bad cough for very long time.  Without waiting any further he  started enquiring in his own sweet way to check whether I have made any cake or not.

kumquat

Later at night,  I showed him my new cake tin and told him that I will bake an ice cream cake for him when we will meet next, to which  he very sweetly replied, I am well now and can have cake.

IMG_9175

I made this quick brownie for him on the next day  and  he loved it  so much  that  he asked for second serving  and then third.  Later when I  was packing one for my another sweetheart, my nephew,  Anvit, he came to me and asked, “ Maasi, what if, I feel like having this, again there.” I understand his point and packed two.

But life wasn’t so rosy and comfortable with them because whenever these two mischievous boys meet specially at my home, they makes me crazy, doing all sorts of naughtiest and troublesome things.  Whenever they are together, you can’t find them playing any board game because it requires sitting and they can do all other things except sitting and talking.   But,  at one point of time, love to see them happy together and remind me of my good old days with my cousins.

I pour some kumquat preserve over each, as  just 2 pieces  were lying in my freeze, sigh!! my small plant laid only that much.   At first, when he saw it,  he said, “He will remove it, if he don’t like,” but he loved it so much that asked me to add more.  Even I believe that this preserve really lifted this simple brownie.

IMG_9166

Recipe adapted from an old collection of recipes from Chef Sanjeev Kapoor or Chef  Rakesh Sethi

Ingredients

  • Egg – 1
  • Brown Sugar – ½ cup
  • Baking Powder – ½ tsp
  • Cocoa Powder – 25 gm
  • Milk – 120 ml
  • Chocolate Chips –    2tbsp
  • Walnuts – 2 tbsp
  • Butter – 60 gm
  • Whole wheat flour – ½ cup

Method

Preheat oven at 180 degree C. Grease 6 muffin molds and dust with cocoa or flour.  In a bowl sift flour, cocoa powder and baking powder.  In another pan whisk butter and sugar till well combined, add milk and whisk again.  Later fold dry ingredients into wet.  Pour the batter into molds and bake for about 15 to 20 minutes.

I spoon some single cream and some kumquat preserve over them.

Kumquat Preserve

Ingredients

  • Kumquat – 2 – 3
  • Water – 2 tbsp
  • Sugar – 2 tbsp

Method

Slice kumquat into thin segments, remove the seeds.  In a pan add all the things and let it simmer on slow flame for 2 to 3 minutes till thick consistency.

Leave a Reply

