Pumpkin Mousse …welcoming spring

Pumpkin Mousse

Say ‘bye’ to all the hot flavors of winters. Now lemon and orange will replace  warm flavors like cinnamon, ginger and nutmeg; cherries, plums, peaches and mangoes will take the place of strawberry, concord grapes and cape gooseberry.

Though in my little balcony garden I don’t have any flower plant to  show you the spring mood but still these beautiful baby tomatoes could be an equal treat for eyes.

Spring

Now, when whether has drastically changed in afternoons, and whenever you step outside, you feel like having something cold.  I too decided to make something cold to welcome spring. I  added cinnamon to this,  because it’s a combination,  made for each other.    Believe me cinnamon in this cold dessert goes extremely well and even loved by my son, who hasn’t tasted pumpkin till now.   Adding caramel made this more exciting and nuts added the crunch.

IMG_4483

I would suggest using orange pumpkin for this recipe because it has its own sweetness.   As per a vegetable vendor orange pumpkin is available in winters only, but while buying something from a weekly vegetable market I found this pumpkin luckily.  I had pumpkin muffin in mind but later dropped that idea thinking pumpkin cake was already   there in my blog.   I opt for this one,  which I saw recently on Chef Sanjeev Kapoor’s show “Cook Smart “ on Foodfood Channel.
Pumpkin Mousse

So in summers instead of soups, you will see more of cold desserts in my blog,  of course,  in between my baking adventures.

Pumpkin Mousse

Ingredients

  • Boiled Pumpkin, puree – 1 cup
  • Single Cream – 1 ½ Cup
  • Castor sugar – 3 tbsp
  • Cinnamon Powder – 1 tsp
  • Butter – 1 tbsp
  • Sugar – 1 tsp
  • Caramel Sauce – 3 tsp (optional)
  • Sliced almonds – to garnish (optional)

Method

In a pan heat butter, add pureed pumpkin,  1 teaspoon sugar and cinnamon powder and stir for 1 minute on a very low heat.  I think sauté this in butter give this a wonderful color.   Let it come on room temperature. Keep this mixture in the freeze to chill. Now in a blender add pumpkin mixture,  cold cream  and castor sugar, give this a quick blitz.  Serve them cold in shot glasses. Drizzle some caramel sauce and sliced almonds to garnish.

Leave a Reply

