Concord Grapes Jam and Orange Marmalade Jam…another seasonal preserves

concord Grapes Jam

Again two jams, out of them one was concord grapes jam which I haven’t heard before but it came out really delicious or I think combinations of fruit, lemon and sugar just can’t go wrong and other one was of orange marmalade Jam, which was one of my favorites.

Orange marmalade Jam

My obsession of making lots of jam this year led me to search more jam recipes.    I searched the net and found many recipes, which were very innovative but they all asked for double for sometimes more than double the sugar.

I can vouch about all my jams recipes because they were tried and tested but concord jam ‘s recipe was the one I can’t guarantee about how long it will survive.  I will definitely update my this post after 6 months.

IMG_8381

The beautiful purple color it releases was something divine and remind me of Jamun jam, and in this jam too  I wanted to add some flavors like cinnamon and star anise but decided to skip because in summers  these flavors doesn’t suit your taste buds, I have experienced that in jamun jam.

concord grapesconcord grapes jam

Orange marmalade jam came out super duper delicious and I cursed myself for making so less.  Again beautiful golden color, as you can see,  makes you drool and above all the aroma  was so inviting.

Concord Grapes Jam

Ingredients

  • Concord Grapes – 500 gm
  • Sugar – 200gm
  • Lemon Juice – 2 tbsp

Method

Wash and cut the grapes into two.  In a heavy bottom saucepan put all the ingredients together and let it simmer for 10 minutes then with a hand blender crush the grapes a little otherwise they will get plump more and not able to cook properly.  Again let it simmer for more 5 – 10 minutes or until the consistency of jam.  Remember it will cook further on its own by the heat incorporated or you can check through plate method which I have mentioned in my earlier post of Cape gooseberry jam.

Orange Marmalade Jam

Orange Marmalade  Jam

Ingredients

  • Orange Juice – 1 cup
  • Sugar – 1 cup
  • water – 1 cup
  • Deghi Mirch – 1 tbsp.
  • Lemon juice – 2 tbsp

Method

Put all the above ingredients in a pan and let it simmer on slow flame for 1 hour or till the consistency of jam or you can do the plate test also as I have mentioned in my earlier posts.

concord Grapes

Leave a Reply

