Strawberry Upside Down Cake

strawberry upside downer

When I was flipping the pages of Dorie Greenspan’s book “Baking from my home to yours” to try something new,  I found this recipe  of cranberry upside down cake. It was looking stunning and it fulfilled my desire too, because I haven’t baked a upside down cake before.

strawberry

I have never seen fresh cranberry in our local market, so I simply replaced that with strawberries which were in season and available in plenty, when I made this cake. Along with lots of other changes, one important change I made was reducing the fat content and adding corn flour to the strawberry mixture.  Though, I was later regretting that I can add oats instead of corn flour to soak the excess liquid  (might try in another cake to see,  how it will work).

strawberry upside down cake

Earlier I had tried a cake in which I added a layer of strawberry in between, resulted in a very soggy and uneven cake.    Sometimes your twist and turns worked and other times they won’t,  but luckily here they both worked magically and what added feather to that cake was my son piping onto it.  He always loves to squeeze my piping bag but  before this I never allowed him to do this on my cake (as his designed were limited on to the plate).  But,  this time he got adamant and I have to agree because sometimes children were hard to convince.

strawberry upside down cake

In original upside down cake, this icing was not done but I did this because my edges were not so clear, as some strawberries got sticked to the tin from the sides though it was bound to happen as warned by Dorie.  Some whipped cream was lying in the freeze from my last cake.  I decided to  make  this cake  more appealable, so added some cream and poured some chocolate sauce.

fruit topping mixture

Recipe adapted from Dorie Greenspan’s book “baking from my home to yours”
Ingredients

For cake

  • Whole wheat flour – 1 cup
  • Baking powder – 1 tsp
  • Ground cinnamon – 1 tsp
  • Salt – ¼ tsp
  • Butter – 120 gms
  • Castor Sugar – ½ cup
  • Eggs – 2
  • Vanilla essence – 1 tsp
  • Whole milk – 1/3 cup

For fruit topping

  • Strawberry(preferably fresh), chopped – 2 cups
  • Walnuts or almonds – ¼ cup
  • Sugar – 4 tbsp
  • Corn flour – 2 tbsp
  • Butter – 3 tbsp

Method of fruit topping

Mix 3 tbsp of butter in a pan. Sprinkle in 4 tbsp of sugar and cook, stirring, until the mixture comes to a boil. Pour this evenly over the bottom of the cake tin, then scatter over the nuts and top with the chopped strawberries, smoothing the layer and pressing it down gently with your fingertips. Set aside.

Method of cake

Sift all the dry ingredients in a bowl.   In another bowl beat butter and sugar until pale add 1 egg at a time beat well after each addition. Now whisk in milk and beat again.   Fold in the dry ingredients

Assembling

Preheat oven at 180 degree C. Grease a 8 inch cake tin. Spoon the cake batter over the fruit topping layer and smooth the top with a spatula. Bake for 40 to 45 minutes, or until the cake is golden. Carefully turn the cake out onto a serving platter. If any of the berries stick to the pan – as they might – just scrape them off with a knife and return them to the cake.

Let it come to room temperature then pipe some cream, if you want, and drizzle some chocolate sauce over.

strawberry upside down cake

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “Strawberry Upside Down Cake

Leave a Reply

