Graham Crackers

graham crackers For quite some time I have become lazy in posting. It is not that something was not baking in my kitchen but I feel low and uninspired to write something.   But yesterday in a family get together I found that they were aware of my work and have lots of good things to say.  Some even asked me the reason for slowing down.   These things were enough to inspire and motivate anyone. So today I sat down, as soon as my work finished serving them something special in terms of reading. graham crackers When I was looking at my old clicks to select something to post I found this one which I was neglecting for ong, may be, at that time my priority of posting was something else.   But today I made  up my mind that I will post this one only, but somehow I could not recall the name of these cookies so after much ado I found what it was. graham crackers The original graham cracker was made with graham flour, a combination of finely-ground unbleached-wheat flour with the wheat bran and germ coarsely-ground and added back in providing flavor. While graham crackers started out as a mild food, unsweetened or mildly sweetened, they are more commonly known as a sugar and/or honey sweetened baked good that approaches a cookie. (Source Wikipedia) graham crackers Recipe adapted from Smitten Kitchen

Makes 28 squares

Ingredients

  • Whole wheat flour – 1 ¼ cup plus 1 tbsp
  • brown sugar, lightly packed – ½ cup
  • baking soda – ½ tsp
  • sea salt – ¼ tsp
  • cold butter – 50 gms
  • milk – 2 ½ tbsp
  • vanilla essence – 1 tbsp
  • honey – 60 gms or ½(1/3 cup)

Topping (optional)

  • granulated sugar – 1 ½ tbsp
  • ground cinnamon – ½ tsp

Method

Preheat the oven at 180 degree C. In a bowl mix flour, sugar, baking soda, and salt. Add cold butter to the flour mixture. Mix slightly until the mixture is the consistency of a coarse meal. In a small bowl, whisk together the honey, milk, and vanilla essence. Add this to the flour mixture and knead the dough until it all comes together. It will be very soft and sticky. Wrap this dough in a plastic wrap then chill it until firm, about 2 hours or overnight. Sift an even layer of flour onto the work surface and roll the dough into a long rectangle about 1/8inch thick. Cut into squares for about 1 ½ inch size.

For topping

Mix the sugar and cinnamon in a small bowl.

Assembling

Place the cut outs onto baking sheets and sprinkle  the topping over them. Chill until firm, about 30 to 45 minutes in the fridge. Prick the cut outs in the center(check the pictures). Bake for 15 to 25 minutes, until browned and slightly firm to the touch, rotating the sheets halfway through to ensure even baking.

When baked,  let them cool on wire rack.

graham crackers

Leave a Reply

