Eggless Easter Bread with whole wheat and amaranth flour…a daring baker’s challenge

easter eggless bread

I would not dare to try these kinds of recipes if, I were not a part of daring baker’s  group.  Unawareness or laziness were the reasons but  whenever  I looked at the  excitement and work of so many bakers around, I too feel  inspired and motivated.

This month’s challenge was Easter bread and  hosted by Wolf of Wolf’s Den .   We were allowed to make any changes as we required but it has to be Easter bread.

Eggless easter bread

In cakes, you can easily play around with the ingredients because there you have sugar and fat to make the necessary adjustment.  But with bread, I really found it  difficult to understand this calculation of gluten, flours and yeast with just 3 to 4 breads under my belt and a   little here and there of ingredients would end up with a denser or flat bread in hand.  So you can’t make choices,  until you have a thorough knowledge or experience.

Eggless easter bread

Luckily my twist and turn would not effect much in this bread,  as this whole bread was finished in just two days.   But I was really wishing to see my bread rise more perfectly.   It did rise, but after gaining a little height it started spreading, may be, the choice of selection of tin was wrong. But in texture it came out very moist. I really want to try this bread with plain flour and with smaller tin to understand and check the difference of gluten.

easter eggless bread

easter eggless breadLast month I have to give the challenge a miss because of non availability of some important ingredient but later I found  a recipe in which a substitute was used which was easy to avail but by that time, it was already late so I skipped the challenge.

Eggless easter bread In this month’s challenge I made so many changes like replacing flours, then replacing egg with hung curd and using marmalade instead of zest and way of making was also different. Eggless Easter bread

Recipe minimally adapted from Wolf ‘s Den
Ingredients: Additives

  • Raisins – 1 cup
  • Chopped almonds – ¼ cup

Sponge

  • Whole wheat flour – 2 cup
  • Corn flour – ¼ cup
  • Amaranth flour – 1/8 cup
  • Dry active yeast – 1 heaped tbsp + ½ tsp
  • Cold milk – 2/3 cup (160 ml) cold milk
  • Granulated sugar – 3 tbsp + 1tbsp
  • Salt – ½ tsp
  • Butter – 50 gms
  • Orange marmalade – 2tbsp +1 tbsp
  • Hung curd – 3 tbsp

Method

Soak the raisins in warm water for 15-20 minutes. Chop the almonds and set aside.

In a bowl sprinkle yeast and 1 tbsp sugar in lukewarm water and keep this mixture in a warm place for 15 minutes.   After 15 minutes, check if, bubbles have started to appear. If not, discard this mixture and make this again. Remember water should not be too hot.

In another bowl sift all the flours along with salt. Add cold butter into it and make a crumble like mixture with it. Now add curd, 2 tbsp marmalade, 2 tbsp sugar, yeast mixture and milk and knead for 10 minutes. Finally add drained raisins and chopped almonds and knead again for 2 minutes. Keep this soft dough covered with cling film in a greased bowl in a warm place for 2 to 3 hours or until it doubles in size.   Take this dough out of the bowl and punch the air out and form the dough and let it rest again in a greased 9” tin (I think 7” would work more perfectly , that way it will raise the height too) for roughly 30 minutes, covered. Preheat oven at 200 degree C. Place a pan of hot water on the rack below where you will be baking. When the dough is rested, slash with a sharp knife the top with an ‘X’. Transfer to baking surface.

In a pan warm 1 tbsp orange marmalade with   1 tbsp water. Brush top of the dough with this. Sprinkle with sugar

Bake in a preheated moderately hot oven 390°F/200°C/gas mark 6 with steam 30-45 minutes,

After becoming part of this group, I learnt so many different new recipes of different cultures.   Most importantly learned about the tradition through their food which would be otherwise impossible to know and learn.

Thanks Wolf, for this wonderful challenge.

 

 

5 thoughts on “Eggless Easter Bread with whole wheat and amaranth flour…a daring baker’s challenge

  1. This looks lovely… I’m so impressed, because I cannot bake to save my life to begin with… and then to think about changing ingredients here and there would send me into a blubbering mess!! I’m wondering exactly what amaranth is..and I’m going to google it right after I “post comment”… You have a lovely blog, and I thank Jhuls for introducing your blog to me!! I look forward to catching up with you! 🙂

    • Thanks for liking my small space and I am really thankful to Jhuls for introducing me to you, now I have one more friend to share. You were right, sometimes your experiments led you to a complete mess but other times they worked magically. So take risks, you will definitely gain.

  2. Pingback: Eggless, Gluten free Brownie…..with Amaranth flour | Bakingflavours

Leave a Reply

